Skip to content
    • Tour Homepage
    • PGA Tour
    • LIV Golf
    • DP World Tour
    • LPGA
    • LET
    • The Masters
    • The Open
    • The Players
    • US Open
    • PGA Championship
    • Ryder Cup
    • Solheim Cup
    • WITB
    • Betting
    • News
    • Features
    • Equipment Homepage
    • Reviews
    • Drivers
    • Fairway Woods
    • Hybrids
    • Irons
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Golf Balls
    • DMDs
    • Apparel
    • Shoes
    • Trolleys
    • Features
    • News
  • Buying Advice
    • Rules
    • WHS
    • Features
    • News
    • Instruction Homepage
    • Driving Tips
    • Long Game
    • Iron Play
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Learn from the pros
    • Course Management
    • Fitness
    • Mental Game
    • Nutrition
  • Giveaways
    • Top 100 Rankings
    • Travel
    • Top 100s Tour
    • Society Guide
  • The NCG Podcast
  • Digital Magazine
National Club GolferNational Club Golfer Logo
  • TourHas submenu items

    Tour Homepage

    • PGA Tour
    • LIV Golf
    • DP World Tour
    • LPGA
    • LET
    • The Masters
    • The Open
    • The Players
    • US Open
    • PGA Championship
    • Ryder Cup
    • Solheim Cup
    • WITB
    • Betting
    • News
    • Features
  • EquipmentHas submenu items

    Equipment Homepage

    • Reviews
    • Drivers
    • Fairway Woods
    • Hybrids
    • Irons
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Golf Balls
    • DMDs
    • Apparel
    • Shoes
    • Trolleys
    • Features
    • News
  • Buying Advice
  • ClubHas submenu items
    • Rules
    • WHS
    • Features
    • News
  • InstructionHas submenu items

    Instruction Homepage

    • Driving Tips
    • Long Game
    • Iron Play
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Learn from the pros
    • Course Management
    • Fitness
    • Mental Game
    • Nutrition
  • Giveaways
  • CoursesHas submenu items
    • Top 100 Rankings
    • Travel
    • Top 100s Tour
    • Society Guide
  • The NCG Podcast
  • Digital Magazine

Sign up here for our newsletter and you'll never slice a drive again. Promise.

Newsletter sign up

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
National Club Golfer Logo

© 2025 National Club Golfer | 2 Arena Park, Tam Lane, LS17 9BF

  • About
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy
Country: gb Page generated at: Sunday, 30 November 2025 at 10:59:01 Greenwich Mean Time
rulesRules of Golf

published: Jun 3, 2021

|

updated: Oct 10, 2024

This bunker is full of water – can I have a free drop?

Steve CarrollLink

FacebookXInstagramYouTubePodcast0 comments

Mother Nature has wreaked havoc with the sand and it’s looking like a pond. What to do? Our Rules of Golf expert explains how to proceed

flooded bunker rules

Table of Contents

Jump to:

  • Flooded bunkers: what is the bunker filled with water rule?

We’d probably be more comfortable on Noah’s Ark than a golf course these days. The rain is heavy and it’s frequent.

But it does mean I get emails like this: “During play the rain was so severe the bunker I landed in was full of water and there was nowhere inside the bunker to play my ball. I took relief outside of the bunker. Should I have incurred a penalty?”

It’s a good question and one of those instances in the Rules of Golf where you might be expecting one answer only to find there is another.

So what happens when you’ve got a bunker full of water? Let’s take a look…

flooded bunker

Flooded bunkers: What is the bunker filled with water rule?

Temporary water – the sort that has filled Pamela’s bunker – is classed as an abnormal course condition.

Under Rule 16.1c, Relief for Ball in Bunker, a player can take either free or penalty relief depending on the circumstances.

Free relief comes with a couple of catches – namely that both the nearest point of complete relief and the relief area have to be in the bunker.

If no such nearest point of complete relief exists, a player has the option to use the “point of maximum available relief” in the bunker, as the reference point.

The definition for the point of maximum available relief says it is the estimated point where the ball would lie that is, in this case:

  • Nearest to the ball’s original spot, but not nearer the hole than that spot;
  • In the bunker;
  • Where the temporary water least interferes with the stroke a player would have made from the original spot if that water didn’t exist

The definition expresses how this would work with temporary water, saying it could be where a ball is in shallower water than where a player would stand, affecting the stance more than lie or swing, or where it was in deeper water than where a player would stand – affecting in this case the lie and swing more than the stance.

But, in the question at the start of our journey, the bunker was totally flooded so did she have another option in the Rules – aside from trying to play it out of a river?

Advertisement

Yes, she could take back-on-the-line relief, playing from outside the bunker, for one penalty stroke.

Here, the relief area is based on a line going straight back from the hole through the spot of the ball.

That seems unfair, right? Why should you have to endure a penalty stroke because of the vagaries of Mother Nature? Wasn’t the bunker unfit for play?

Well, if your committee is on the ball you shouldn’t have to worry. Clubs can bring in a Local Rule that caters for this exact scenario.

Have a peek on the R&A’s website to find Model Local Rule F-16. It states when a bunker is flooded, free relief under Rule 16.1c “may not be sufficient to allow for fair play”.

It allows committees to treat the bunker as Ground Under Repair and then give free relief from outside it.

However, if you are on a committee, don’t be tempted to bring in blanket relief for all the bunkers on the course. It needs to be done on a case-by-case basis.

Got a question for our expert?

Despite the changes to the Rules of Golf in 2019 and 2023, there are still some that leave us scratching our heads. I’ll try to help by featuring the best of your queries in this column.

What do you think about these flooded bunker rules? Let me know by leaving a comment on X.

CLICK HERE TO BUY THE OFFICIAL GUIDE TO THE RULES OF GOLF
  • NOW READ: Can my club make all bunkers GUR?
  • NOW READ: My ball is in water from an overflowing penalty area – what do I do?

Advertisement

Comments (0)

Leave a Comment

No comments yet. Be the first to comment!