fbpx
joaquin niemann mayakoba

Why was LIV Golf star Joaquin Niemann docked two penalty strokes?

Joaquin Niemann’s excellence from the first two days at LIV Golf Mayakoba was diminished as he was assessed a penalty before the start of the final round…

 

Joaquin Niemann‘s four-shot lead at LIV Golf Mayakoba was halved before the final round following a rules violation.

LIV Golf revealed in a statement that Niemann played from the wrong place after incorrectly taking relief from a cart path on hole 13 at El Camaleon Golf Course.

Niemann “failed to drop within his one-club length relief area” on the par 5 which led to a two-shot penalty.

LIV’s rules committee became aware of the issue on Saturday evening and administered the penalty on Sunday. His score on the hole was changed from a five to a seven.

Having shot a staggering 59 in round one and a moderate 1-under-par 70 in round two which was later turned into 1-over, the Chilean’s score was reduced from 13-under-par to 11 at the start of round three.

He held a two-shot advantage over Jon Rahm and Dean Burmester with 18 holes left in the first event of the LIV Golf season in 2024.

joaquin niemann mayakoba

Joaquin Niemann: LIV Golf administers costly penalty, but under what rule?

Niemann was penalised under Rule 14.7a which concerns the place where a ball must be played.

Rule 14.7a says after starting a hole, a player must make each stroke from where their ball comes to rest, except when the rules require or allow a player to play from another place.

A player can’t play from the wrong place of course, so this results in the general penalty of two shots.

Rule 3.3b (3) concerns the wrong score for a hole. If a player returns a scorecard with a wrong score for any hole, they can be disqualified if the returned score is lower than the actual one.

The exception is failure to include an unknown penalty. If one or more of the player’s scores are lower than the actual scores because they didn’t include a penalty stroke that they didn’t know about, the player isn’t disqualified.

If the mistake is found before the end of the event, the committee revises the score of that hole or holes by adding the penalty strokes that should’ve been included.

NOW READ: Two aces! Teenage star becomes hero at Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific

NOW READ: 13 teams, but 54 players? Breaking down the LIV Golf format

How much have you enjoyed the Joaquin Niemann Mayakoba performance this week? Tell us on X/Twitter!

Latest Posts

bryson dechambeau owgr

LIV Golf

‘What’s going on?’ Bryson DeChambeau frustrated at LIV Golf’s OWGR stalemate

Read full article - ‘What’s going on?’ Bryson DeChambeau frustrated at LIV Golf’s OWGR stalemate
the masters cbs coverage

LIV Golf

Could Rory McIlroy actually do the unthinkable?

Read full article - Could Rory McIlroy actually do the unthinkable?
panini trading cards

LIV Golf

I’ll swap Beckham for Bryson! LIV Golf and Panini launch new trading cards

Read full article - I’ll swap Beckham for Bryson! LIV Golf and Panini launch new trading cards
enjoying putting

News

Hall of Famer Retief Goosen forecasts fearful future for the PGA Tour

Read full article - Hall of Famer Retief Goosen forecasts fearful future for the PGA Tour
charlie woods pga tour

News

Charlie Woods bid to make PGA Tour field ended with 86

Read full article - Charlie Woods bid to make PGA Tour field ended with 86
mexico open prize money

News

How much does the winner bank? Mexico Open Prize money 2024

Read full article - How much does the winner bank? Mexico Open Prize money 2024
g4d tour

News

Golf for the Disabled to hold landmark event with PGA Tour

Read full article - Golf for the Disabled to hold landmark event with PGA Tour

News

You’re in! LIV Golf star earns special invitation for the Masters

Read full article - You’re in! LIV Golf star earns special invitation for the Masters
sergio garcia dp world tour

News

Sergio Garcia: I will be a member of the DP World Tour next year

Read full article - Sergio Garcia: I will be a member of the DP World Tour next year