fbpx
mcilroy rules

Why McIlroy’s rules penalty was overturned

Rory McIlroy was given a two-shot penalty at the Northern Trust for touching the sand in a bunker. But it was soon rescinded. Steve Carroll delves into the Rules of Golf to explain why

 

This never would have happened under the old rules. After a summer lull, when it seemed we were all getting used to the new decrees, the Rules of Golf were thrust front and centre into the limelight once more at The Northern Trust, in New Jersey, as it appeared none other than Rory McIlroy had come a cropper.

The Northern Irishman was given a two-shot penalty during the second round when he went to remove what he thought was a rock while in a greenside bunker on the 14th hole. It turned out to be a piece of sand.

But later, after a chat with Slugger White, the PGA Tour’s vice president of rules and competition, the punishment was rescinded.

Why the change of heart? To understand what’s going on, you need to know Rule 12, specifically 12.2a and 12.2b, and 8.1.

Until January, what you could do in a bunker was pretty clear: Don’t, under any circumstances, touch the sand until club was going through ball on a stroke.

Plenty of clubs, though, employed their own Local Rules which allowed players to remove loose impediments in a bunker. So why not write that into the Rules?

Rule 12.2a, introduced at the start of the year, says that “before playing a ball in a bunker, a player may remove loose impediments under Rule 15.1 and movable obstructions under Rule 15.2.

“This includes any reasonable touching or movement of the sand in the bunker that happens while doing so.”

All seems pretty clear, so what’s the problem?

Rory McIlroy

Well, there are some restrictions. Rule 12.2b says that, before making a stroke at a ball in a bunker, a player must not “deliberately touch sand in the bunker with a hand, club, rake or other object to test the condition of the sand to learn information for the next stroke”.

You are also not allowed to deliberately touch sand “in the area right in front of or right behind the ball” – with the exception of removing a loose impediment or movable obstruction.

And you can receive the general penalty – that’s Rules speak for two shots – if a player’s actions “in touching the sand improve the conditions affecting the stroke in breach of Rule 8.1a”.

This Rule covers areas such as the lie of the player’s ball at rest.

The clump that McIlroy moved lay close behind his ball and it appears this is where the confusion arose.

PGA Tour official Dave Donnelly felt – as did the officials on the walkie-talkie – that as Rory had touched the sand behind the ball it was going to be a penalty.

McIlroy’s defence revolved around the insistence that he was not deliberately touching the sand, he was simply removing what he thought was a loose impediment – as the rules allow him to do.

White came to the same conclusion. Then it came down to the question of whether Rory improved the conditions of the stroke.

One Slugger was satisfied, under 8,1, that he hadn’t, the penalty was reversed.

What Rory McIlroy had to say

“They reviewed it. So I knew that rule had changed this year a little bit in the bunkers or the penalty areas or whatever they are calling it. I thought there was a rock behind like sort of beside my ball, and I went to pick it up. So I touched it and I realized it wasn’t a rock, so I just went ‘oh, that’s not a rock’, but I touched the sand,

“It’s such a grey area. But the way the rule is written, it’s like 12.1 and then refers to 8.2 or whatever it is, but it says if there’s no intent and if you haven’t improved your lie, and you haven’t improved your line of play; and I’m very comfortable.

“The reason I called someone over is I don’t want anything on my conscience, either. I feel like I play the game with integrity and I’m comfortable saying that I didn’t improve anything.

“I thought it was a rock; it wasn’t. I moved my hand away, and then I was like, I don’t know if I’ve done anything wrong here.

“They got the USGA involved. Rang them. They sort of went back and forth a little bit, and then it came down to that. In a way, it came down to me and [they] said ‘okay, are you comfortable telling us you didn’t improve your lie?’ and for me, I am comfortable saying that.”

Join the conversation on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram

Steve Carroll

Steve Carroll

A journalist for 25 years, Steve has been immersed in club golf for almost as long. A former club captain, he has passed the Level 3 Rules of Golf exam with distinction having attended the R&A's prestigious Tournament Administrators and Referees Seminar.

Steve has officiated at a host of high-profile tournaments, including Open Regional Qualifying, PGA Fourball Championship, English Men's Senior Amateur, and the North of England Amateur Championship. In 2023, he made his international debut as part of the team that refereed England vs Switzerland U16 girls.

A part of NCG's Top 100s panel, Steve has a particular love of links golf and is frantically trying to restore his single-figure handicap. He currently floats at around 11.

Steve plays at Close House, in Newcastle, and York GC, where he is a member of the club's matches and competitions committee and referees the annual 36-hole scratch York Rose Bowl.

Having studied history at Newcastle University, he became a journalist having passed his NTCJ exams at Darlington College of Technology.

What's in Steve's bag: TaylorMade Stealth 2 driver, 3-wood, and hybrids; TaylorMade Stealth 2 irons; TaylorMade Hi-Toe, Ping ChipR, Sik Putter.

Latest Posts

2023 Rules of Golf changes replacing golf ball on spot

Rules of Golf

England Golf extend period for preferred lies

By

Read full article about England Golf extend period for preferred lies
rules beginner

Rules of Golf

What are the key rules beginner golfers should know?

By

Read full article about What are the key rules beginner golfers should know?
Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!

Rules of Golf

Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!

By

Read full article about Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!
gary woodland

Rules of Golf

Can you look into a player’s bag to see what club they’re using?

By

Read full article about Can you look into a player’s bag to see what club they’re using?
winter rules

Rules of Golf

5 Winter Rules Golfers Break!

By

Read full article about 5 Winter Rules Golfers Break!
golf divot

Rules of Golf

My ball has landed on a divot – can I move it?

By

Read full article about My ball has landed on a divot – can I move it?
animal scrapings

Rules of Golf

Do I get free relief from animal scrapings?

By

Read full article about Do I get free relief from animal scrapings?
rule changes

Rules of Golf

5 Rule Changes You Need To Know!

By

Read full article about 5 Rule Changes You Need To Know!
Golf club committee

Rules of Golf

The prizes were handed out but the committee got my score wrong – should the results be changed?

By

Read full article about The prizes were handed out but the committee got my score wrong – should the results be changed?