fbpx

Justin Rose suffers rare rules blunder at Sentry Tournament of Champions

Justin Rose fell foul of the rules in club golfer-style during the first round of the Sentry Tournament of Champions

 

Even US Open champions aren’t immune to club-level rules mishaps.

Justin Rose revealed he hit the wrong ball during the first round of the Sentry Tournament of Champions.

It happened on the 7th hole at the Plantation Course in Hawaii which resulted in a damaging double-bogey.

You can view how Rose navigated the 7th hole through the PGA Tour’s Tourcast feature here.

Barstools sports’ Dan Rapaport shed some light on the situation by posting a message exchange with Rose’s playing partner Taylor Moore on X/Twitter:

The Englishman went on to card a 2-under-par 71 on Thursday to fall seven shots behind Sahith Theegala.

“First day back at work after the festive period was interesting @TheSentry I hit the wrong ball on the 7th!!” Rose posted on X/Twitter after completing his round.

Rose earned his spot in the stunning setting of Kapalua this week by winning last season’s AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-am, which was his 11th PGA Tour trophy.

Golf rule: Playing the wrong ball

The Rules of Golf state if you make a stroke at a wrong ball, you get the general penalty of two shots in stroke play.

You must correct the mistake by continuing to play the original ball by playing it as it lies or taking relief.

If you don’t correct the mistake before making a stroke to begin another hole or for the last hole of the day before returning your scorecard, you’ll be disqualified.

If you play the wrong ball in match play, you receive the general penalty which is loss of hole.

Mackenzie Hughes suffered the same fate as Rose during the 2022 Farmers Insurance Open at Torrey Pines.

Hughes chipped what he thought was his ball by the par-5 9th green on the North Course, as it was marked by a volunteer’s flag.

But it turned out to be the wrong ball, and he was assessed a two-stroke penalty which led to a double-bogey seven.

NOW READ: Do I HAVE to play from the winter tee mat?

NOW READ: My ball hit a marker on the green and went in – does it count?

As this Justin Rose Sentry rules mistake ever happened to you? Tell us on X/Twitter!

Latest Posts

News

‘I can’t explain how nervous I was’: How Joe Dean’s final-hole decision paid off…

Read full article - ‘I can’t explain how nervous I was’: How Joe Dean’s final-hole decision paid off…
rory mcilroy talor gooch

News

Rory McIlroy’s advice for Talor Gooch: Be more like Joaquin Niemann!

Read full article - Rory McIlroy’s advice for Talor Gooch: Be more like Joaquin Niemann!
viktor hovland prize money

News

Soulless, comical and sad: Viktor Hovland has a bleak outlook on golf

Read full article - Soulless, comical and sad: Viktor Hovland has a bleak outlook on golf
talor gooch

LIV Golf

‘It’s noteworthy’: Talor Gooch defends controversial Rory McIlroy asterisk claim

Read full article - ‘It’s noteworthy’: Talor Gooch defends controversial Rory McIlroy asterisk claim
talor gooch rory mcilroy

LIV Golf

Talor Gooch: Rory McIlroy’s major grand slam would have an asterisk

Read full article - Talor Gooch: Rory McIlroy’s major grand slam would have an asterisk
anthony kim player profile

LIV Golf

Anthony Kim joins LIV Golf after 12-year absence from professional game

Read full article - Anthony Kim joins LIV Golf after 12-year absence from professional game
jon rahm interview

LIV Golf

Blanked by Tiger! Six talking points from Jon Rahm’s latest interview

Read full article - Blanked by Tiger! Six talking points from Jon Rahm’s latest interview

LIV Golf

Jon Rahm: Winning the Masters made it easier to join LIV Golf

Read full article - Jon Rahm: Winning the Masters made it easier to join LIV Golf
pga tour 2024 schedule

Tour

PGA Tour 2024 schedule and results

Read full article - PGA Tour 2024 schedule and results