Jon Rahm and Tyrrell Hatton found themselves in a sticky situation at the Ryder Cup – and some of you might be wondering if they should have been penalised.
Did the European pair’s ball move when Hatton stepped on a twig as they considered what to do when in the trees on the right of the 7th hole at Bethpage Black?
Rahm had hit a wayward drive during the Friday morning foursomes and the ball was very close to a fallen branch.
That’s a loose impediment, which can be shifted under the rules, but risks a one-shot penalty if the ball moves.
As the duo were considering what to do, Hatton stepped on a nearby twig which appeared to touch the branch close to where the ball was resting.
[object Object][object Object][object Object][object Object][object Object]
TV replays showed the ball appear to very slightly wobble and there was speculation about whether the Europeans might be penalised.
Hatton subsequently chose to leave the stick in place, nutted his approach to the green, and Europe won the hole to – at that stage – tie the match. It proved a pivotal point as Rahm and Hatton then dominated on their way to a 4&3 victory.
Officials looked at the branch incident and ruled there would be no penalty. This is why…

Did Tyrrell Hatton’s ball move? Here’s why it wasn’t a penalty for Hatton and Rahm at the Ryder Cup
Golfers sometimes misunderstand what the rules mean when they think a ball has moved. Social media often erupts if a dimple shifts in a slow-motion TV replay – demanding a penalty.
But, in the Rules of Golf, the definition of moved says this has happened “when a ball at rest has left its original spot and come to rest on any other spot, and this can be seen by the naked eye”.
The definition continues: “If the ball at rest only wobbles (sometimes referred to as oscillating) and stays on or returns to its original spot, the ball has not moved”.
Advertisement
If the ball hasn’t moved from one spot and come to rest on another spot then it hasn’t moved and isn’t a penalty. That’s what the officials decided in this case at the Ryder Cup.
Got a question for our expert?
Despite the changes to the Rules of Golf in 2019 and 2023, there are still some that leave us scratching our heads. I’ll try to help by featuring the best of your queries in this column. Send me your questions by emailing me at s.carroll@nationalclubgolfer.com
Tyrrell Hatton ball moved?: What do you think? Do you agree with the ruling for Tyrrell Hatton and Jon Rahm? What do you think of these golf ball moved rules? Let us know in the comments.
CLICK HERE TO BUY THE OFFICIAL GUIDE TO THE RULES OF GOLF
Advertisement
