fbpx
Thomas Pieters WITB

‘Never ever seen that!’ Pieters caught up in freakish rules incident

Fans were left divided after Thomas Pieters was given a retake following a bizarre moment at the French Open
 

Thomas Pieters was caught up in a freakish rules incident at the French Open which saw the big hitting Belgium allowed to retake his putt after mishitting an effort. And the reason why soon had everyone weighing in on the drama.

Putting for birdie on the par-5 3rd during round two, Pieters barely made contact with his effort in what looked like the biggest mishit we’ve ever seen. Seriously, just take a look at this…

The bizarre incident soon got even wilder though as it turned out Pieters had been distracted by a child coughing in the crowd at the DP World Tour event.

Having attempted to pull out of the putt but accidentally connecting in the process, it was then over to a rules official as Pieters pleaded his case.

With the referee agreeing the Ryder Cup star had indeed played the putt unintentionally, Pieters was allowed to replace his ball and retake the effort all over again.

That’s because the bizarre situation falls under Rule 13.1d, which states if you accidentally cause your ball to move you are entitled to replace it on its original spot.

Pieters would eventually make par after retaking the putt. But of course social media was soon divided over the situation…

 
 
 
 
 
 

There ain’t no drama like a bit of Rules of Golf drama.

Latest Posts

rules beginner

Rules of Golf

What are the key rules beginner golfers should know?

Read full article - What are the key rules beginner golfers should know?
Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!

Rules of Golf

Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!

Read full article - Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!
gary woodland

Rules of Golf

Can you look into a player’s bag to see what club they’re using?

Read full article - Can you look into a player’s bag to see what club they’re using?
winter rules

Rules of Golf

5 Winter Rules Golfers Break!

Read full article - 5 Winter Rules Golfers Break!
golf divot

Rules of Golf

My ball has landed on a divot – can I move it?

Read full article - My ball has landed on a divot – can I move it?
animal scrapings

Rules of Golf

Do I get free relief from animal scrapings?

Read full article - Do I get free relief from animal scrapings?
rule changes

Rules of Golf

5 Rule Changes You Need To Know!

Read full article - 5 Rule Changes You Need To Know!
Golf club committee

Rules of Golf

The prizes were handed out but the committee got my score wrong – should the results be changed?

Read full article - The prizes were handed out but the committee got my score wrong – should the results be changed?
golf flagstick etiquette

Rules of Golf

How many of these Rules of Golf changes do you still use in your game?

Read full article - How many of these Rules of Golf changes do you still use in your game?