fbpx

Mind-boggling rules mix-up gives Collin Morikawa costly penalty

When Matt Fitzpatrick queried a greens reading rule with a referee at the Hero World Challenge, this dropped Collin Morikawa in trouble…

 

Collin Morikawa was given a two-shot penalty for something his caddie did on the practice putting green.

The American breached Model Local Rule G-11 concerning the use of greens reading materials on hole 4 during the third round of the Hero World Challenge.

His caddie J.J Jakovac had used a level to measure the slope of the practice green on Saturday morning, which is allowed by the rules.

But Jakovac then wrote these notes in his yardage book which chief referee Stephen Cox says he used for a par putt on the fourth hole at Albany Golf Course.

“This is a very complicated rule,” Cox explained in the Bahamas. “We respect the traditional methods of people wanting to have notes in a yardage book.

“There’s something that has been going on for many years, and obviously when we drafted this Model Local Rule, we wanted to protect that some players and caddies take more notes than others.

“And we were very specific in the fact that these handwritten notes needed to be obtained through traditional methods to protect the fundamental skill of reading greens within our sport.

“And that’s obviously the foundation behind why we put the model local rule into place.

“A lot of players use other formulas where they retain that information to memory,” he added.

“And again, we’ve been very specific for those players that do use formulas. It’s fine. You do need to retain that in your memory for you to take onto the course.

“Unfortunately, in this case, that formula was transferred into the book as a handwritten note and then subsequently used, and that’s where the breach occurred.”

The two-time major champion had two shots added to his third-round score, before the start of the final round, which turned his 68 into a 70.

He eventually finished in seventh place and eight shots behind the winner Scottie Scheffler.

Collin Morikawa penalty: How did the rules official discover the breach?

Matt Fitzpatrick, Morikawa’s playing partner, heard that Jakovac had put the notes in his yardage book, and said to the pair during Saturday’s round that he thought this was a breach.

A meticulous note-taker himself, Fitzpatrick had intended to do this before in the season but hadn’t, so he reached out to Cox with a text after the round.

“I was on the green, I heard Collin ask the question. J.J. gave him an answer from his yardage book – I have wanted to use AimPoint earlier this year. I spoke to my putting coach, Phil Kenyon, about it,” he said.

“He told me that he was pretty certain I can’t write the numbers down or use the AimPoint numbers. So, you know, I didn’t do it. And then obviously yesterday it happened and I asked Coxy just to clarify what the situation was.

“I asked the question and he was like, well, now you’ve asked the question, I need you to tell me what’s going on. That was it.

“Listen, it’s nothing personal. Whether it was Tiger or whoever, it’s just I wanted to know because I would have used it earlier this year.”

Cox confirmed with Jakovac that he had the notes in his yardage book and assessed him the penalty 15 minutes before he began the final round with Tony Finau.

“It just sucks that from our understanding and from J.J.’s questioning of officials, it’s like what do we trust now, right” Morikawa said.

“It’s not like he has the exact conversation that he can pull out on a mic and say this is what they said, but we’re not doing this if we’re jumping on the line of being OK to not, you know?

“Like I’m not trying to cheat like that. He would never do that, I would never do that. So he did his due diligence and apparently, it was just kind of a lot of grey area.

“And you know what, Stephen said apparently to J.J. this morning that it was a grey area in all this. Why are there grey areas? There shouldn’t be grey areas in the rules, right? That’s what rules are for.

“So if he told J.J. this morning. That’s why J.J. didn’t bring it up until we were about to go warm up. It’s like well, if he doesn’t understand the rules and he has to go ask other people, then what’s the point of having these rules officials if they don’t know the rules? I don’t know. It’s frustrating to end the year like this.”

NOW READ: How on earth does the Hero World Challenge have world ranking points?

NOW READ: Why every Tiger Woods comeback matters

What was your favourite moment of the Hero World Challenge 2023? Tell us on X!

Latest Posts

the masters cbs coverage

LIV Golf

Could Rory McIlroy actually do the unthinkable?

Read full article - Could Rory McIlroy actually do the unthinkable?
panini trading cards

LIV Golf

I’ll swap Beckham for Bryson! LIV Golf and Panini launch new trading cards

Read full article - I’ll swap Beckham for Bryson! LIV Golf and Panini launch new trading cards
enjoying putting

News

Hall of Famer Retief Goosen forecasts fearful future for the PGA Tour

Read full article - Hall of Famer Retief Goosen forecasts fearful future for the PGA Tour
charlie woods pga tour

News

Charlie Woods bid to make PGA Tour field ended with 86

Read full article - Charlie Woods bid to make PGA Tour field ended with 86
mexico open prize money

News

How much does the winner bank? Mexico Open Prize money 2024

Read full article - How much does the winner bank? Mexico Open Prize money 2024
g4d tour

News

Golf for the Disabled to hold landmark event with PGA Tour

Read full article - Golf for the Disabled to hold landmark event with PGA Tour

News

You’re in! LIV Golf star earns special invitation for the Masters

Read full article - You’re in! LIV Golf star earns special invitation for the Masters
sergio garcia dp world tour

News

Sergio Garcia: I will be a member of the DP World Tour next year

Read full article - Sergio Garcia: I will be a member of the DP World Tour next year
Do golf influencers have a place on the PGA Tour?

News

Do golf influencers have a place on the PGA Tour?

Read full article - Do golf influencers have a place on the PGA Tour?