Here’s a question that might stump some of you: Can you take practice swings and hit the sand when your ball is in a bunker?
No, you’re all yelling in unison. Rule 12.2b (1) says you can’t. You’re right, it does.
Before making a stroke at a ball in a bunker, it states that a player must not touch sand in the bunker with a club “in making a practice swing”.
Case closed, right? But what if your ball is in one bunker, and you take a practice swing and hit the sand in another nearby bunker?

Practice swings in bunkers
The observant among you may have already gleaned the answer, though I managed to get it wrong in more than one rules quiz when studying for my exams. You can make a practice swing and hit the sand in another bunker. Why? Here’s my take: because your ball is not in it.
Read Rule 12.2b (1) again. The restrictions on touching the sand, and when it results in a penalty, refers to before making a stroke “at a ball in a bunker”.
It then prohibits a player from touching sand in the bunker with a club. If the ball isn’t there, the restrictions don’t apply.
It’s a little bit of a surprise this is possible, given the R&A and USGA’s major rules change in 2019, which allowed players to generally touch sand when moving loose impediments for example, continued to prohibit touching the sand with a club in a bunker both for “pace of play and to avoid having large amounts of sand deposited outside bunkers (especially greenside bunkers) as a result of repeated practice swings”.
But there we are – though I’m not sure what your playing partners might think if you pull this one out on the course!
Advertisement
Got a question for our expert?
Despite the changes to the Rules of Golf in 2019 and 2023, there are still some that leave us scratching our heads. I’ll try to help by featuring the best of your queries in this column.
What do you think about this rule about practice swings in a bunker? Let me know by leaving a comment on X.
Advertisement
