Skip to content
    • Tour Homepage
    • PGA Tour
    • LIV Golf
    • DP World Tour
    • LPGA
    • LET
    • The Masters
    • The Open
    • The Players
    • US Open
    • PGA Championship
    • Ryder Cup
    • Solheim Cup
    • WITB
    • Betting
    • News
    • Features
    • Equipment Homepage
    • Reviews
    • Drivers
    • Fairway Woods
    • Hybrids
    • Irons
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Golf Balls
    • DMDs
    • Apparel
    • Shoes
    • Trolleys
    • Features
    • News
  • Buying Advice
    • Rules
    • WHS
    • Features
    • News
    • Instruction Homepage
    • Driving Tips
    • Long Game
    • Iron Play
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Learn from the pros
    • Course Management
    • Fitness
    • Mental Game
    • Nutrition
  • Giveaways
    • Top 100 Rankings
    • Travel
    • Top 100s Tour
    • Society Guide
  • The NCG Podcast
  • Digital Magazine
National Club GolferNational Club Golfer Logo
  • TourHas submenu items

    Tour Homepage

    • PGA Tour
    • LIV Golf
    • DP World Tour
    • LPGA
    • LET
    • The Masters
    • The Open
    • The Players
    • US Open
    • PGA Championship
    • Ryder Cup
    • Solheim Cup
    • WITB
    • Betting
    • News
    • Features
  • EquipmentHas submenu items

    Equipment Homepage

    • Reviews
    • Drivers
    • Fairway Woods
    • Hybrids
    • Irons
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Golf Balls
    • DMDs
    • Apparel
    • Shoes
    • Trolleys
    • Features
    • News
  • Buying Advice
  • ClubHas submenu items
    • Rules
    • WHS
    • Features
    • News
  • InstructionHas submenu items

    Instruction Homepage

    • Driving Tips
    • Long Game
    • Iron Play
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Learn from the pros
    • Course Management
    • Fitness
    • Mental Game
    • Nutrition
  • Giveaways
  • CoursesHas submenu items
    • Top 100 Rankings
    • Travel
    • Top 100s Tour
    • Society Guide
  • The NCG Podcast
  • Digital Magazine

Sign up here for our newsletter and you'll never slice a drive again. Promise.

Newsletter sign up

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
National Club Golfer Logo

© 2025 National Club Golfer | 2 Arena Park, Tam Lane, LS17 9BF

  • About
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy
Country: gb Page generated at: Sunday, 30 November 2025 at 10:32:25 Greenwich Mean Time
rulesRules of Golf

published: Oct 26, 2023

|

updated: May 23, 2024

I accidentally kicked my ball on the green – is it a penalty?

Steve CarrollLink

FacebookXInstagramYouTubePodcast0 comments

Been a bit clumsy on the putting surface and moved your ball? Our Rules of Golf expert breaks down what happens next

Rules of Golf

Table of Contents

Jump to:

  • Ball moves on green: what happens if it’s accidental?

My golf, which can be variable at the best of times, has this odd quirk. My putting stroke has a waggle. I do it instinctively – maybe I’m just trying to relieve the tension of missing another 18-incher – but it does give rise to episodes of clumsiness.

So when I dug back into the NCG Rules vaults and found this email, I knew instinctively where the sender was coming from…

“What is the ruling if a ball is accidentally moved on the putting green BEFORE IT IS MARKED by: a player intending to putt out without marking but accidentally moves the ball during address; or a player or opponent accidentally kicking the ball before it is marked?”

backstopping ball moves on green

Ball moves on green: What happens if it’s accidental?

Let us open our Rule Books to 13.1d (1) where the answer is revealed. It says “there is no penalty if the player, opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally moves the player’s ball or ball-marker on the green”.

It adds the player must replace the ball on its original spot, which if not known must be estimated, or place a ball-marker to mark that original spot.

Before the rules were updated in 2023, there used to be an interpretation in the Official Guide that laid out examples of what could be classed as accidental movement.

These included dropping a coin or a club which hit the ball and caused it to move; unintentionally kicking the ball, dropping something onto it, or pressing down on a ball-marker.

Though they are no longer written down in that guide, the sentiment still applies. It doesn’t matter how you do it, if you accidentally move a ball or ball-marker on the putting green there is no penalty.

But do remember to put your ball back where it was if it’s accidentally moved.

Because if you don’t, you will be penalised and it will be a chunky two shots, or loss of hole in match play, for playing from the wrong place.

Advertisement

Got a question for our expert?

Despite the changes to the Rules of Golf in 2019 and 2023, there are still some that leave us scratching our heads. I’ll try to help by featuring the best of your queries in this column.

What do you think? Have you accidentally moved a ball in this way? How was it resolved? Let me know on X.

CLICK HERE TO BUY THE OFFICIAL GUIDE TO THE RULES OF GOLF
  • NOW READ: What happens when a ball moves on the green?
  • NOW READ: Can you putt with a ball marker still in place?

Advertisement

Comments (0)

Leave a Comment

No comments yet. Be the first to comment!