fbpx
Patrick Reed WITB 2020

‘It’s my word against theirs’ – Reed caught up in rules drama

Patrick Reed was hit with a two-shot penalty at the Hero World Challenge after getting busted by social media

 

Patrick Reed is the latest player to find himself caught up in a rules debacle after the former Masters champion was hit with a two-stroke penalty at the Hero World Challenge.

Reed was adjudged to have improved his lie in a sanded waste area near the 11th green at Albany Golf Club, and a clip of the incident went viral on social media.

Rule 8.1a(4) states that while a player can ground their club in waste areas, they are not allowed to “remove or press down on sand or loose soil”.

Rules officials informed Reed after his round, but the 29-year-old was adamant he had done nothing wrong.

“It was in a full footprint and I felt my club was that far behind the ball when I was taking a practice swing,” Reed said. “It was obviously hitting a bit of sand, though I didn’t feel any drag. But when they brought it up for me [on TV] I definitely saw it drag and, because of that, it is a two-shot penalty even though I didn’t feel like it would have affected my lie.

“Every time I get in one of those bunkers I am scared to get my club close to [the ball]. I accept the two-shot penalty, even though there was not any intent as I was far enough away.”

When pushed as to why he accepted the penalty when he didn’t think he’d broken any rules, he added: “I think with a different camera angle they would have seen it was not improving the lie as I was far enough away from the golf ball.

“I don’t ever put the club directly behind the ball in a situation like that as I am scared of it moving. Intent is a big part but with only one camera angle it is a 50-50 battle when you are being assessed for anything like that.

“I told them there was no intent and it was far enough away from the ball, but they didn’t have another camera angle to show that and they felt it might have been improving the lie.

“At the end of the day you have got to let things roll off your shoulders. If I stew over something, it’s my word against their word and because they only have one camera angle, I don’t really have a choice.

“After seeing it brush some sand, they thought that was a breach and, in the Rules of Golf, if you improve your lie, it is a penalty. At the end of the day you have to accept it and move on.”

The PGA Tour’s vice-president of rules and competitions, Slugger White, explained: “I don’t know if he could have seen it as clearly as we did but he could not have been a better gentleman.

“Intent would not matter here, that’s not in the mix.”

Social media wasn’t as kind though, with LET star Anne van Dam leading the charge…

Eddie Pepperell also weighed in. “What the f*** were you thinking?” the Englishman wrote.

Alex Perry

Alex Perry

Alex has been the editor of National Club Golfer since 2017. A Devonian who enjoys wittering on about his south west roots, Alex moved north to join NCG after more than a decade in London, the last five of which were with ESPN. Away from golf, Alex follows Torquay United and spends too much time playing his PlayStation or his guitar and not enough time practising his short game.

Latest Posts

2023 Rules of Golf changes replacing golf ball on spot

Rules of Golf

England Golf extend period for preferred lies

By

Read full article about England Golf extend period for preferred lies
rules beginner

Rules of Golf

What are the key rules beginner golfers should know?

By

Read full article about What are the key rules beginner golfers should know?
Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!

Rules of Golf

Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!

By

Read full article about Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!
gary woodland

Rules of Golf

Can you look into a player’s bag to see what club they’re using?

By

Read full article about Can you look into a player’s bag to see what club they’re using?
winter rules

Rules of Golf

5 Winter Rules Golfers Break!

By

Read full article about 5 Winter Rules Golfers Break!
golf divot

Rules of Golf

My ball has landed on a divot – can I move it?

By

Read full article about My ball has landed on a divot – can I move it?
animal scrapings

Rules of Golf

Do I get free relief from animal scrapings?

By

Read full article about Do I get free relief from animal scrapings?
rule changes

Rules of Golf

5 Rule Changes You Need To Know!

By

Read full article about 5 Rule Changes You Need To Know!
Golf club committee

Rules of Golf

The prizes were handed out but the committee got my score wrong – should the results be changed?

By

Read full article about The prizes were handed out but the committee got my score wrong – should the results be changed?