Skip to content
    • Tour Homepage
    • PGA Tour
    • LIV Golf
    • DP World Tour
    • LPGA
    • LET
    • The Masters
    • The Open
    • The Players
    • US Open
    • PGA Championship
    • Ryder Cup
    • Solheim Cup
    • WITB
    • Betting
    • News
    • Features
    • Equipment Homepage
    • Reviews
    • Drivers
    • Fairway Woods
    • Hybrids
    • Irons
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Golf Balls
    • DMDs
    • Apparel
    • Shoes
    • Trolleys
    • Features
    • News
  • Buying Advice
    • Rules
    • WHS
    • Features
    • News
    • Instruction Homepage
    • Driving Tips
    • Long Game
    • Iron Play
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Learn from the pros
    • Course Management
    • Fitness
    • Mental Game
    • Nutrition
  • Giveaways
    • Top 100 Rankings
    • Travel
    • Top 100s Tour
    • Society Guide
  • The NCG Podcast
  • Digital Magazine
National Club GolferNational Club Golfer Logo
  • TourHas submenu items

    Tour Homepage

    • PGA Tour
    • LIV Golf
    • DP World Tour
    • LPGA
    • LET
    • The Masters
    • The Open
    • The Players
    • US Open
    • PGA Championship
    • Ryder Cup
    • Solheim Cup
    • WITB
    • Betting
    • News
    • Features
  • EquipmentHas submenu items

    Equipment Homepage

    • Reviews
    • Drivers
    • Fairway Woods
    • Hybrids
    • Irons
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Golf Balls
    • DMDs
    • Apparel
    • Shoes
    • Trolleys
    • Features
    • News
  • Buying Advice
  • ClubHas submenu items
    • Rules
    • WHS
    • Features
    • News
  • InstructionHas submenu items

    Instruction Homepage

    • Driving Tips
    • Long Game
    • Iron Play
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Learn from the pros
    • Course Management
    • Fitness
    • Mental Game
    • Nutrition
  • Giveaways
  • CoursesHas submenu items
    • Top 100 Rankings
    • Travel
    • Top 100s Tour
    • Society Guide
  • The NCG Podcast
  • Digital Magazine

Sign up here for our newsletter and you'll never slice a drive again. Promise.

Newsletter sign up

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
National Club Golfer Logo

© 2025 National Club Golfer | 2 Arena Park, Tam Lane, LS17 9BF

  • About
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy
Country: gb Page generated at: Saturday, 29 November 2025 at 11:03:54 Greenwich Mean Time
rulesRules of Golf

published: Dec 7, 2023

|

updated: Jul 30, 2024

I ‘lost’ my ball but found it in the hole – is it a hole in one?

Steve CarrollLink

FacebookXInstagramYouTubePodcast0 comments

You’ve finished up with a provisional only to get to the hole and find your original ball in it. Rare, but it happens. So what do you put on your scorecard?

hole in one

Table of Contents

Jump to:

  • Hole in one rules: is this an ace?

This is one of those rules questions that you normally only find in a quiz. It’s like a chess puzzle – fun to think about but never every happens on the course.

But over the years I’ve been writing this column, this one-in-a-million scenario has cropped up in emails and on social media from time to time.

So let’s deliver this situation in rules quiz style…

You’re on a par 3. You can’t see the bottom of the flag and everywhere you look is trouble. Your tee shot looked good but you can’t see where it lands.

You’re concerned. It could be anywhere, so you correctly announce a provisional and play it. Arriving at the green, your original ball is nowhere to be found. You tick off the three minutes you’re allowed to search.

Tragedy. Time’s up. You haven’t found the ball. Gutted, you locate your provisional ball, and play it. After all, you believe it to be the ball in play under penalty of stroke-and-distance.

You putt, hole out, and get to the cup only to see your original ball is also nestled at the bottom of it.

Well rules sleuths, what happens now? Is it a hole-in-one, or a double bogey? What are you writing on your scorecard?

hole in one

Hole in one rules: Is this an ace?

While you might be thinking it’s a headscratcher, the answer is dead simple. Rule 1.1 says that “each hole starts with a stroke from the teeing area and ends when the ball is holed on the putting green”.

If that doesn’t give you a big enough clue, Rule 6.5, which covers completing the play of a hole, says a player has completed a hole in stroke play when “the player holes out”.

As soon as the original ball went in the hole, it was over. Everything else, the provisional, the searching, the putts, didn’t count. The hole was completed the moment the ball was at rest in the hole after your stroke.

Advertisement

Sometimes people ask me if continuing the hole with the provisional – even though you didn’t know it was completed – counts as practice. It does not.

An addition to Rule 6.5 says if a player isn’t aware the hole is completed, “and attempts to continue play of the hole”, neither is it practice “nor do they get a penalty for playing another ball, including a wrong ball”.

Get your wallet out and prepare for that bar bill. You’re buying the drinks. You’ve hit the perfect shot.

  • NOW READ: Four aces? You won’t believe this hole in one story!

Got a question for our expert?

Despite the changes to the Rules of Golf in 2019 and 2023, there are still some that leave us scratching our heads. I’ll try to help by featuring the best of your queries in this column.

What do you think of this hole in one golf rule? Do you agree? Let me know by leaving me a comment on X.

CLICK HERE TO BUY THE OFFICIAL GUIDE TO THE RULES OF GOLF
  • NOW READ: Does this hole in one count?
  • NOW READ: Can anyone get close to this incredible tally of aces?

Advertisement

Comments (0)

Leave a Comment

No comments yet. Be the first to comment!