US Girls match semi-final ends in gimme controversyJuly 30, 2017 Golf News
When is a gimme not a gimme? When it's not given, of course. See the video below...
Cast your minds back to the gimme controversy in the 2015 Solheim Cup involving Suzann Petterson and Allison Lee. The Norwegian claimed that she hadn’t given the American’s their two foot putt and therefore Europe won the hole.
Well, the exact situation happened during the semi-final of the US Girls Junior match play. Erica Shepherd had completed the first extra hole – the par-5 14th – with a par so Elizabeth Moon stood over a birdie putt to win the match and had a chance to move into the final.
Moon’s putt missed on the underside of the hole before immediately raking the ball back and practised the same putt, knocking the ball into the hole.
Unfortunately for Moon controversy would follow. Shepherd straight away turned to her coach and said: “I never said that was good.”
After a conversation with the rules official Moon was given a one shot penalty for moving her ball.
If you didn’t see it, here is the incident…
This is an absolute disgrace. pic.twitter.com/wpef50qZPn
— Mark Harris (@TweetsByHarris) July 29, 2017
The ruling has divided opinion amongst the golfing world. Moon shouldn’t have presumed the putt had been given but on the other hand should common sense come into play? She wouldn’t have missed.
Shepherd went on to win the competition by defeating Jennifer Chang in the final 3&2.