Throwback Thursday: Cabrera Bello disqualified for having no ballsDecember 7, 2017 The Scoop
Not the Spaniard's finest hour
After posting a first round of 72, Rafa Cabrera Bello had put in himself in to a good position at the 2010 South African Open.
By day two he had played himself out of the tournament completely. Standing on the 11th tee at 11-over-par wasn’t his biggest concern.
With two sixes, an eight and a 10 on the card, Cabrera Bello was looking to somehow save his round and somehow avoid missing the cut. Unfortunately, he couldn’t continue due to every club golfers worst nightmare.
He had run out of golf balls.
Cabrera Bello was therefore disqualified due to the European Tour’s “one ball rule” as he couldn’t borrow one of his playing partners golf balls.
Despite rule 4-4a allowing a golfer to borrow items of equipment (except clubs) from a playing partner or an outside agency, the European Tour and Sunshine Tour state that if you start with a particular ball you can’t change to another. For example, if you start your round with a Titliest Pro V1, you can’t change to a Srixon Z-Star.
Tiger Woods’ had previously found himself in an awkward ball situation at the 2000 US Open where he recorded the largest winning margin in history.
If you haven’t seen it, his then caddie, Steve Williams, recalled how Woods had taken three golf balls out of his bag to practice putting the night before and forgot to replace them.
Therefore, Tiger apparently had one ball left on the 18th hole and luckily didn’t hit into the sea. If he had Williams faced a mad rush to find Woods the specific Nike prototype ball he was using.