The 152nd Open Championship will be held at Royal Troon, 100 years after the Ayrshire club first hosted golf's oldest major

Royal Troon will host the 2023 Open Championship, the 152nd edition of golf’s oldest major, the R&A have confirmed.

It will be the 10th time the Championship is hosted over the Ayrshire links and 100 years on from the first, when England’s Arthur Havers was successful. The last time was in 2016, when Henrik Stenson edged out Phil Mickelson in that fascinating final-day battle.

Perhaps the most infamous Open at Troon was in 2004, when Todd Hamilton beat 500-1 odds – and Ernie Els in a play-off – to lift the Claret Jug.

Past Troon Open champions

1923: Arthur Havers (England)
1950: Bobby Locke (South Africa)
1962: Arnold Palmer (USA)
1973: Tom Weiskopf (USA)
1982: Tom Watson (USA)
1989: Mark Calcavecchia (USA)
1997: Justin Leonard (USA)
2004: Todd Hamilton (USA)
2016: Henrik Stenson (Sweden)

Did you know?

Royal Troon only came into hosting the Open after the Honourable Company briefly had doubts over whether they wanted Muirfield hosting the competition.

What they’re saying

“We are very much looking forward to celebrating another milestone in the cherished history of The Open when we mark the 100th anniversary of the Championship first being played at Royal Troon.”

– Martin Slumbers, chief executive of the R&A

“We are delighted to welcome the return of the world’s oldest major championship to Royal Troon and regard this as confirmation of the wonderful condition to which our historic links are maintained. The 152nd Open will also provide an excellent opportunity to celebrate 100 years of the Championship’s history at Royal Troon which commenced with Arthur Havers’ victory in 1923.”

– Des Bancewicz, captain of Royal Troon