From the very first to the reigning Champion Golfer of the Year

Looking for the comprehensive list of Open Championship winners, from the very first in 1860 to the present day? Well, you’re in luck. Now, let’s get scrolling…

Open Championship winners

1860: Willie Park Sr (Prestwick)

1861: Tom Morris Sr (Prestwick)

Old Tom Morris

1862: Tom Morris Sr (Prestwick)

1863: Willie Park Sr (Prestwick)

1864: Tom Morris Sr (Prestwick)

1865: Andrew Strath (Prestwick)

1866: Willie Park Sr (Prestwick)

1867: Tom Morris Sr (Prestwick)

1868: Tom Morris Jr (Prestwick)   

1869: Tom Morris Jr (Prestwick)   

1870: Tom Morris Jr (Prestwick)   

1871: No tournament due to missing trophy

1872: Tom Morris Jr (Prestwick)   

1873: Tom Kidd (St Andrews)

1874: Mungo Park (Musselburgh Links)        

1875: Willie Park Sr (Prestwick)    

1876: Bob Martin (St Andrews)

1877: Jamie Anderson (Musselburgh Links)  

1878: Jamie Anderson (Prestwick)

1879: Jamie Anderson (St Andrews)

1880: Bob Ferguson (Musselburgh Links)     

1881: Bob Ferguson (Prestwick)

1882: Bob Ferguson (St Andrews)

1883: Willie Fernie (Musselburgh Links)

1884: Jack Simpson (Prestwick)

1885: Bob Martin (St Andrews)

1886: David Brown (Musselburgh Links)

1887: Willie Park Jr. (Prestwick)

1888: Jack Burns (St Andrews)

1889: Willie Park Jr. (Musselburgh Links)

1890: John Ball (Prestwick)

1891: Hugh Kirkaldy (St Andrews)

1892: Harold Hilton (Muirfield)

1893: William Auchterlonie (Prestwick)

1894: John Henry Taylor (Royal St George’s)

1895: John Henry Taylor (St Andrews)

1896: Harry Vardon (Muirfield)

1897: Harold Hilton (Royal Liverpool)

Open winners

1898: Harry Vardon (Prestwick)

1899: Harry Vardon (Royal St George’s)

1900: John Henry Taylor (St Andrews)

1901: James Braid (Muirfield)

1902: Sandy Herd (Royal Liverpool)

1903: Harry Vardon (Prestwick)    

1904: Jack White (Royal St George’s)

1905: James Braid (St Andrews)        

1906: James Braid (Muirfield)

1907: Arnaud Massy (Royal Liverpool)

1908: James Braid (Prestwick)

1909: John Henry Taylor (Royal Cinque Ports)

1910: James Braid (St Andrews)

1911: Harry Vardon (Royal St George’s)

1912: Ted Ray (Muirfield)

1913: John Henry Taylor (Royal Liverpool)

1914: Harry Vardon (Prestwick)

1915: No tournament due to World War I

1916: No tournament due to World War I

1917: No tournament due to World War I

1918: No tournament due to World War I

1919: No tournament due to World War I

1920: George Duncan (Royal Cinque Ports)

1921: Jock Hutchison (St Andrews)

1922: Walter Hagen (Royal St George’s)

1923: Arthur Havers (Royal Troon)

1924: Walter Hagen (Royal Liverpool)

1925: Jim Barnes (Prestwick)

1926: Bobby Jones (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

1927: Bobby Jones (St Andrews)

1928: Walter Hagen (Royal St George’s)

1929: Walter Hagen (Muirfield)

14 Golf Clubs

1930: Bobby Jones (Royal Liverpool)

1931: Tommy Armour (Carnoustie)

1932: Gene Sarazen (Prince’s)

1933: Denny Shute (St Andrews)

1934: Henry Cotton (Royal St George’s)

1935: Alf Perry (Muirfield)

1936: Alf Padgham (Royal Liverpool)

1937: Henry Cotton (Carnoustie)

1938: Reg Whitcombe (Royal St George’s)

1939: Dick Burton (St Andrews)

1940: No tournament due to World War II

1941: No tournament due to World War II

1942: No tournament due to World War II

1943: No tournament due to World War II

1944: No tournament due to World War II

1945: No tournament due to World War II

1946: Sam Snead (St Andrews)

1947: Fred Daly (Royal Liverpool)

1948: Henry Cotton (Muirfield)

1949: Bobby Locke (Royal St George’s)

1950: Bobby Locke (Royal Troon)

1951: Max Faulkner (Royal Portrush)

1952: Bobby Locke (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

1953: Ben Hogan (Carnoustie)

1954: Peter Thomson (Royal Birkdale)

1955: Peter Thomson (St Andrews)

1956: Peter Thomson (Royal Liverpool)

1957: Bobby Locke (St Andrews)

1958: Peter Thomson (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

1959: Gary Player (Muirfield)

1960: Kel Nagle (St Andrews)

1961: Arnold Palmer (Royal Birkdale)

1962: Arnold Palmer (Royal Troon)

1963: Bob Charles (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

Visit our dedicated Open website for more features from golf’s oldest major

1964: Tony Lema (St Andrews)

1965: Peter Thomson (Royal Birkdale)

1966: Jack Nicklaus (Muirfield)

1967: Roberto De Vicenzo (Royal Liverpool)

1968: Gary Player (Carnoustie)

1969: Tony Jacklin (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

1970: Jack Nicklaus (St Andrews)

1971: Lee Trevino (Royal Birkdale)

1972: Lee Trevino (Muirfield)

1973: Tom Weiskopf (Royal Troon)

1974: Gary Player (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

1975: Tom Watson (Carnoustie)       

1976: Johnny Miller (Royal Birkdale)

1977: Tom Watson (Turnberry)

1978: Jack Nicklaus (St Andrews)

1979: Seve Ballesteros (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

1980: Tom Watson (Muirfield)

1981: Bill Rogers (Royal St George’s)

1982: Tom Watson (Royal Troon)

1983: Tom Watson (Royal Birkdale)

1984: Seve Ballesteros (St Andrews)

Open winners

1985: Sandy Lyle (Royal St George’s)

1986: Greg Norman (Turnberry)

1987: Nick Faldo (Muirfield)

1988: Seve Ballesteros (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

1989: Mark Calcavecchia (Royal Troon)

1990: Nick Faldo (St Andrews)

1991: Ian Baker-Finch (Royal Birkdale)         

1992: Nick Faldo (Muirfield)

1993: Greg Norman (Royal St George’s)

1994: Nick Price (Turnberry)

1995: John Daly (St Andrews)

1996: Tom Lehman (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

1997: Justin Leonard (Royal Troon)

1998: Mark O’Meara (Royal Birkdale)

1999: Paul Lawrie (Carnoustie)

2000: Tiger Woods (St Andrews)

2001: David Duval (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

2002: Ernie Els (Muirfield)

2003: Ben Curtis (Royal St George’s)

2004: Todd Hamilton (Royal Troon)

2005: Tiger Woods (St Andrews)

2006: Tiger Woods (Royal Liverpool)

2007: Padraig Harrington (Carnoustie)

2008: Padraig Harrington (Royal Birkdale)

2009: Stewart Cink (Turnberry)

2010: Louis Oosthuizen (St Andrews)

2011: Darren Clarke (Royal St George’s)

Open winners

2012: Ernie Els (Royal Lytham & St Annes)

2013: Phil Mickelson (Muirfield)

2014: Rory McIlroy (Royal Liverpool)

2015: Zach Johnson (St Andrews)

2016: Henrik Stenson (Royal Troon)

2017: Jordan Spieth (Royal Birkdale)

2018: Francesco Molinari (Carnoustie)

2019: Shane Lowry (Royal Portrush)

2020: No tournament due to the Covid 19 pandemic

2021: Collin Morikawa (Royal St George’s)

The R&A has announced details of how you can get tickets for the historic 151st Open Championship at Royal Liverpool in 2023. Click here to find out more.

Subscribe to NCG


NCG info

NCG information services provide everything you need from leaderboards and prize money breakdowns to TV schedules weather forecasts.

PGA Catalunya Stadium PGA Catalunya Stadium

The NCG Top 100s Tour is heading to Europe for a multi-day event at PGA Catalunya. Prices start at £799 per golfer.


Subscribe to NCG