Two out of four, or best score counts: can you submit a World Handicap System score if you’re playing a team game?
Let’s clear up a poser that has left some of you scratching your heads. Lots of roll ups comprise team games. They may be two out of three scores to count, or two from four, but there is an element of individual scoring that contributes to a greater whole.
Often, one or two players can complete an entire card and there is nothing to stop other team members from holing out and recording their own scores.
But can they count for your handicap? Can a round that’s put together in a team event be one of those WHS counting scores?
Let’s get into it…
WHS counting scores: Can a team score count for handicap
No, not in GB&I. Scores from team events, and that includes best two of four or any other iteration of which you can think, are not acceptable for WHS purposes.
England Golf’s checklist for acceptable scores also says: “In addition, players may not choose to submit a general play score whilst playing in a team event”.
Acceptable scores come from individual stroke play. What if we play individual stroke play within a team event, you might ask?
Handicapping rules don’t accept it as an individual score. If you think about it logically, it makes a lot of sense.
What if you had to play a hole in a particular way – attack or defend – to maximise an opportunity in a team event? You might not approach it the same way if you were playing an individual Stableford or medal.
So if you’re playing in a roll-up and you want to put in a score for handicap, you need to play an individual, rather than a team, format if you are to get your way and enter a World Handicap System score.
Now have your say
What do you think of these WHS counting scores rules? Should team scores be allowed to count for handicap, and would you put in more if you had the chance to do so? Let me know with a comment on X.
We dive deep into the golf ball roll back plans!