fbpx
Frog on a golf ball

Rules of Golf explained: My ball is resting against a frog and it won’t budge – what do I do?

Is a pesky amphibian interfering with your next shot? Our rules expert explains how to deal with outside influences
 

Every spring it was like an invasion – thousands of them would suddenly appear all over the greens. It was a feeding frenzy for the birds, and a bloodbath for the golfers’ size-nine FootJoys.

What was the cause? They were frogs that had suddenly emerged en masse from nearby ponds.

They’d get everywhere, so I could more than empathise when I got this email from Andrew Charnock. He wrote: “A player tees off on a par-4 and hits a great drive which just runs into the first cut of rough. On reaching their ball, they see it is in the general area but is resting against a frog. 

“The frog is alive but despite some encouragement from the player the frog refuses to move. To be clear, the ball is at rest touching the grass in the first cut resting against the frog. It is not actually on the frog.

“We both know that when a ball [in motion] comes to rest ON an outside influence the player must take relief under Rule 11.1b Exception 1.

“What are your thoughts when the ball is resting against the frog rather than on the frog?”

So if a pesky croaker is preventing you from getting on with your game, what do you do? Let’s take a look…

Rules of Golf explained: Ball resting against outside influence

I was debating whether the frog would be an outside influence or a loose impediment as the latter can include “worms, insects, and similar animals that can be removed easily”.

But I called on a pal of mine, a championship referee, to help me with the answer. He confirmed that the living frog is an outside influence.

I include my earlier cogitations only to show what could happen if the ball moved while you were trying to shift the frog.

Had it been a loose impediment, you’d get a one stroke penalty. But, as it’s an outside influence, it can be encouraged to budge – as you can with another animal or bird.

If the ball moves, Rule 9.6 says you must replace it on its original spot without penalty.

Have a question for our Rules of Golf expert?

Despite the simplification of the Rules of Golf at the beginning of 2019, there are still some that leave us scratching our heads. And as I’ve passed the R&A’s Level 3 rules exam with distinction, I’ll try to help by featuring the best in this column.

Do the Ryder Cup captains actually matter?

Do the Ryder Cup captains actually matter?

Latest Posts

golf advice

Rules of Golf

Can you ask which direction the wind is coming from?

Read full article - Can you ask which direction the wind is coming from?

Rules of Golf

Can I be disqualified for not entering my score on the computer?

Read full article - Can I be disqualified for not entering my score on the computer?
moving a golf ball marker

Rules of Golf

What are you allowed to use as a ball marker?

Read full article - What are you allowed to use as a ball marker?
rules of golf bunker rules

Rules of Golf

Can I place a club in a bunker when playing a shot?

Read full article - Can I place a club in a bunker when playing a shot?

Rules of Golf

What am I BANNED from looking at on my phone on the course?

Read full article - What am I BANNED from looking at on my phone on the course?
hole in one golf

Rules of Golf

I picked up my playing partner’s ball. Don’t I get a penalty?

Read full article - I picked up my playing partner’s ball. Don’t I get a penalty?
ball accidentally moved on putting green

Rules of Golf

A trolley on the loose causes havoc with a short putt. How do the Rules sort this out?

Read full article - A trolley on the loose causes havoc with a short putt. How do the Rules sort this out?
golf match play rules

Rules of Golf

Match play vs Stroke play: Did you know this about golfer-to-golfer combat?

Read full article - Match play vs Stroke play: Did you know this about golfer-to-golfer combat?
marking a golf ball pick up

Rules of Golf

I picked up my ball without marking it and my partner said I was disqualified! Is that right?

Read full article - I picked up my ball without marking it and my partner said I was disqualified! Is that right?