fbpx
embedded ball

I hit my ball straight into the ground – can I have relief from the pitch mark?

Your shot has not gone as planned and it’s now buried. Are you able to take embedded ball relief? Our Rules of Golf expert has you covered

 

Golfers are eternally hopeful, aren’t they? At least they are when it comes to thinking they can execute the most miraculous of shots. Let Guy Powell’s email explain this embedded ball relief problem…

“Playing at our local course recently (winter rules apply) my playing partner’s ball was in quite a steep downward undulation within the first cut.

“Being an optimistic player he choose a ‘go-for-the-green’ shot and inevitably topped the ball. This resulted in simply depressing the ball, in the same place he struck it. Three quarters of the ball was now below the surface area.

“The ball had not left the ground at all – it had simply been ‘pushed/pressed’ into the ground by the club. The debate was ‘is this a pitch mark or not?’

“As he couldn’t decide, he choose to take a penalty stroke but I still think this was really a ‘pitch mark’. The clubhouse discussion was pretty much a 50/50 split. Can you please advise the correct ruling and the logic behind it?”

I can indeed, Guy, I can indeed…

embedded ball relief

Embedded ball relief: When can you take free relief?

Let’s start by establishing when your ball is embedded because that catches a few people out. It’s all covered in Rule 16.3.

You can only take embedded ball relief if it’s in the general area (you can mark, lift, clean, repair damage, and replace if it happens on the putting green).

There are usually two exceptions to this – the first is when the ball is embedded in sand which is in a part of the general area that is not cut to fairway height or less.

The second is if it would be clearly unreasonable to play the ball as it lies, such as when you can’t make a stroke because it’s in a bush, so don’t think you can get out of jail if you’ve found yourself in that kind of trouble.

A club can also bring in a Local Rule that restricts relief to when a ball is in part of the general area that’s cut to fairway height or less, and they can also refuse to allow relief for a ball that is plugged in the wall or lip of a bunker.

What constitutes an embedded ball then? It is when it’s in its own pitch mark, made as a result of a player’s last stroke, and where part of the ball is “below the level of the ground”.

People get caught out here, thinking the ball is embedded if it is sat down in deep grass. But, as you can see, that’s not necessarily the case.

Sometimes you might not be clear whether the ball is in its own pitch mark or not. What now? Rule 16.3a (2) says if you can’t tell for sure, you can treat the ball as embedded “if it is reasonable to conclude from the available information that the ball is in its own pitch mark”.

So far so good for Guy’s playing partner. But here’s where it all comes crashing down in flames.

A ball is not embedded if it is pushed into the ground by someone stepping on it, if it was dropped in taking relief under a Rule, or – and this is the key in this situation – when it is “driven straight into the ground without becoming airborne”.

So if the ball had topped, gone up in the air, and then plugged – fine. Find the spot in the general area that’s right behind where the ball is embedded and then drop within a one-club length relief area.

But if it has never got off the ground, if it has never seen daylight on its way to plugging, then Guy’s partner made the right choice.

What are your options now? You can, of course, take stroke and distance relief. Or you can declare your ball unplayable. Both, though, are going to cost you a penalty stroke.

Here’s a little extra thing to mull over. What if the ball had not been in the first cut, but on the fairway? Well, in this particular instance – because Guy says winter rules were in effect – there would be the option to take preferred lies relief.

Got a question for our expert?

Despite the changes to the Rules of Golf in 2019 and 2023, there are still some that leave us scratching our heads. I’ll try to help by featuring the best of your queries in this column.

What do you think about this embedded ball relief rule? Let me know by leaving a comment on X.

Steve Carroll

Steve Carroll

A journalist for 25 years, Steve has been immersed in club golf for almost as long. A former club captain, he has passed the Level 3 Rules of Golf exam with distinction having attended the R&A's prestigious Tournament Administrators and Referees Seminar.

Steve has officiated at a host of high-profile tournaments, including Open Regional Qualifying, PGA Fourball Championship, English Men's Senior Amateur, and the North of England Amateur Championship. In 2023, he made his international debut as part of the team that refereed England vs Switzerland U16 girls.

A part of NCG's Top 100s panel, Steve has a particular love of links golf and is frantically trying to restore his single-figure handicap. He currently floats at around 11.

Steve plays at Close House, in Newcastle, and York GC, where he is a member of the club's matches and competitions committee and referees the annual 36-hole scratch York Rose Bowl.

Having studied history at Newcastle University, he became a journalist having passed his NTCJ exams at Darlington College of Technology.

What's in Steve's bag: TaylorMade Stealth 2 driver, 3-wood, and hybrids; TaylorMade Stealth 2 irons; TaylorMade Hi-Toe, Ping ChipR, Sik Putter.

Latest Posts

2023 Rules of Golf changes replacing golf ball on spot

Rules of Golf

England Golf extend period for preferred lies

By

Read full article about England Golf extend period for preferred lies
rules beginner

Rules of Golf

What are the key rules beginner golfers should know?

By

Read full article about What are the key rules beginner golfers should know?
Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!

Rules of Golf

Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!

By

Read full article about Want to play the same game as the pros? That means playing the same Rules!
gary woodland

Rules of Golf

Can you look into a player’s bag to see what club they’re using?

By

Read full article about Can you look into a player’s bag to see what club they’re using?
winter rules

Rules of Golf

5 Winter Rules Golfers Break!

By

Read full article about 5 Winter Rules Golfers Break!
golf divot

Rules of Golf

My ball has landed on a divot – can I move it?

By

Read full article about My ball has landed on a divot – can I move it?
animal scrapings

Rules of Golf

Do I get free relief from animal scrapings?

By

Read full article about Do I get free relief from animal scrapings?
rule changes

Rules of Golf

5 Rule Changes You Need To Know!

By

Read full article about 5 Rule Changes You Need To Know!
Golf club committee

Rules of Golf

The prizes were handed out but the committee got my score wrong – should the results be changed?

By

Read full article about The prizes were handed out but the committee got my score wrong – should the results be changed?