The Masters is the first major of the year and the chance for the players to win the prestigious green jacket at one of the most famous tournaments in sport.

How will 2019 play out?

A brief history of the Masters

The Masters is scheduled for the first full week in April. However, the inaugural tournament was held in March 1934.

The tournament was set up by Bobby Jones and investment banker Clifford Roberts after Jones co-designed Augusta National with Alistair McKenzie.

Since 1949 the winner has been presented with a green jacket for winning the tournament. They are free to take it outside the Augusta National grounds until the next tournament and then the jacket must remain at Augusta National.

Did you know…

A tradition at the Masters is for the current champion to host the champions dinner and pick what will be on the menu. All the past champions are invited as well as certain Augusta board members.

Jack Nicklaus holds the record for the most Masters as well as being the oldest winner while Tiger Woods holds the record for the youngest winner at 21 years and 104 days when he won in 1997.

The Masters is the smallest field out of the four majors as it is an invitational tournament held by Augusta National Golf Club.

Where is the Masters held?

The Masters is held at Augusta National Golf Club every year. The course is located in the town of Augusta in Georgia and is around two hours from Atlanta.

When is the 2019 Masters?

The 83rd edition of the tournament will be played between Thursday 11 April and Sunday 14 April 2019.

The tournament as usual will be preceded by Wednesday’s par 3 Contest. The late Arnold Palmer was victorious around the 1,060 yard course a whopping five times.

Who is the reigning Masters champion?

When is the 2019 Masters

Patrick Reed is the current Masters champion after he survived late challenges from Jordan Spieth and Rickie Fowler to secure his maiden major title in 2018.

The American was the fourth player in a row to win their first major at Augusta, following in the footsteps of Spieth, Danny Willett and Sergio Garcia.

Click here to view our dedicated Masters website