We now know who will be lining up for Great Britain & Ireland and the USA at Royal Liverpool

It is one of the most prestigious amateur events on the calendar and now we know the Walker Cup teams for this year’s edition of the biennial event.

Royal Liverpool in Hoylake will be the venue for the 2019 match in which 10 of the finest amateurs from Great Britain and Ireland will take on 10 of their American counterparts from September 7-8.

Over the years the tournament has seen many young golfers who have gone on to be world-beaters – Dustin Johnson, Rory McIlroy and Tiger Woods, to name just three.

Right, so who is teeing it up in September?

Walker Cup teams: Great Britain & Ireland

Captain: Craig Watson

Alex Fitzpatrick: Younger brother of five-time European Tour winner Matthew. Plays college golf for Wake Forest University and has several top-10 finishes to his name. Also reached the quarter-finals of last years US Amateur.

Conor Gough: Winner of the 2018 Boys’ Amateur Championship and 2019 English Amateur Championship.

Harry Hall: Finished 2nd in the Brabazon Trophy this year behind Benjamin Schmidt and has been part of the England team in the European Amateur Team Championship.

Thomas Plumb: Represented England in the European Amateur Team Championship and GB&I in the 2017 Jacques Leglise Trophy.

Conor Purcell: Winner of this year’s Australian Amateur Championship and runner-up in the Irish Amateur Open Championship.

Caolan Rafferty: Winner of the 2019 West of Ireland Amateur Open Championship and the 2018 South of Ireland Amateur Open Championship.

Sandy Scott: Played in a winning International team that won the 2019 Arnold Palmer Cup and reached the quarter-finals of the Amateur Championship.

Tom Sloman: Holder of the European Nations Cup and has had success in competitions such as the English Amateur Championship.

James Surgue: Winner of the Amateur Championship, Ireland’s first since 2005.

Euan Walker: One of the in-form players having finished 2nd in both the Amateur Championship and European Amateur Championship.

Reserves: Benjamin Schmitt, Benjamin Jones

Walker Cup teams: USA

Captain: Nathaniel Crosby

Cole Hammer: Currently the No. 1 ranked player in the World Amateur Golf Rankings.

Akshay Bhatia: Has previously represented USA in the junior Presidents Cup and junior Ryder Cup.

Stewart Hagestad: Winner of the 2016 US Mid-Amateur Championship and the first US Mid-Amateur champion to make the cut at the Masters.

John Augenstein: Reached the final of the 2019 US Amateur, beaten in the final by Andy Ogletree.

Steven Fisk: In the last two years, he has won eight times and has secured 17 top-10 finishes.

Andy Ogletree: Winner of the 2019 US Amateur Championship at Pinehurst.

John Pak: Has 21 top 10s and five wines to his name in the previous two years.

Isaiah Salinda: Won his first collegiate title this year at the Annual Western Intercollegiate.

Alex Smalley: Has plans to turn pro later on in 2019 following a successful college career at Duke.

Brandon Wu: Qualified for both the US Open and the Open in 2019 and made the cut in the former at Pebble Beach.

Reserves: Chandler Phillips, Ricky Castillo

Agree with the selections? Let us know in the comments below, or join the conversation on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.