The 151st Open Championship will be held at Royal Liverpool. It will be the 13th Hoylake Open – the last time was in 2014 when Rory McIlroy completed a wire-to-wire victory for his only Claret Jug to date.

It means we now have our Open venues for the next four years:

2019: Royal Portrush
2020: Royal St George’s
2021: St Andrews
2022: Royal Liverpool

The first Hoylake Open was the 37th edition of the tournament in 1897 and just the second to be held outside of Scotland – it was at Royal St George’s three years previously.

It was won by Harold Hilton, a member at Royal Liverpool and one of just three amateurs to lift the Claret Jug along with John Ball and Bobby Jones, the latter of whom also won at Hoylake in his famous Grand Slam year of 1930.

Royal Liverpool’s list of Open champions reads like a who’s who of revered Champion Golfers of the Year, including Tiger Woods, who won the 11th of his 14 majors on the Wirral.

Who can forget the emotional scenes on 18? It was his first victory since the death of his dad, Earl.

Hoylake Open: Past champions

1897: Harold Hilton (a)
1902: Sandy Herd
1907: Arnaud Massey
1913: JH Taylor
1924: Walter Hagen
1930: Bobby Jones (a)
1936: Alf Padgham
1947: Fred Daly
1956: Peter Thomson
1967: Roberto De Vicenzo
2006: Tiger Woods
2014: Rory McIlroy

Hoylake Open

Hoylake Open: What they’re saying about Royal Liverpool

Its famous links has a cherished history and has produced a revered group of champion golfers, including Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy most recently. It will be fascinating to see who will emerge from the world-class field to lift the Claret Jug in 2022.

– Martin Slumbers, Chief executive of the R&A

Support for world class sport in Merseyside and the North West is intense and passionate. Fans will turn out in force expecting another great winner to join the pantheon of great champion golfers who have won at Hoylake. A testament to the quality of our course that always seems to find the world’s best golfer. Roll on 2022!

– Sir Ian Gilmore, Captain of Royal Liverpool