Fantasy Golf: Who to pick for the 2015 Masters?

Golf News

Pick your Fantasy Golf team for the Masters

The NCG Fantasy Golf game is back and this year we’ve got bigger and better prizes than ever.

So as things get started with the Masters the only question which remains is – who are you going to pick for the season’s curtain raiser?

The rules are slightly different in this year’s game meaning players have a budget of £100m and there are points deductions for players missing the cut.

One tactic could be to ‘front load’ your team with three or four of the world’s best and then fill the rest with cheaper players.

For example you could opt for Rory McIlroy, Bubba Watson, Henrik Stenson and Jordan Spieth but that would only leave £60m for the reaming six players.

Another tactic could be to try and fill your team with 10 players who are all playing in this week’s Masters tournament.

Don’t forget that your captain will score you double points and The Masters is a bonus game with 50% more points on offer than a regular game week.

Either way, the most important thing to know is exactly who is in the field.

We’ve helped you out by adding the entire entry list below.

The bookies odds are also a handy place to start (they’ve done their research so you don’t have to) which we have also added to help you assemble your team.

Don’t forget to Tweet us @NCGMagazine with a screen shot of your team and we’ll RT it.

Register or log-in to your team page HERE

Good luck!

Top 10 players according to the bookies

1. Rory McIlroy – 6/1 (£15M)
2. Jordan Spieth – 11/1 (£15M)
3. Bubba Watson – 12/1 (£15M)
4. Dustin Johnson – 16/1 (£14M)
5. Adam Scott – 20/1 (£15M)
6. Henrik Stenson – 22/1 (£15M)
7. Jimmy Walker – 25/1 (£14M)
8. Phil Mickelson – 25/1 (£14M)
9. Rickie Fowler – 40/1 (£14M)
10. Justin Rose – 40/1 (£15M

Entry list in full

Past Champions

Angel Cabrera (2009)
Fred Couples (1992)
Ben Crenshaw (1984, 1995)
Trevor Immelman (2008)
Zach Johnson (2007)
Bernhard Langer (1985, 1993)
Sandy Lyle (1988)
Phil Mickelson (2004, 2006, 2010)
Larry Mize (1987)
Mark O’Meara (1998)
Jose Maria Olazabal (1994, 1999)
Charl Schwartzel (2011)
Adam Scott (2013)
Vijay Singh (2000)
Bubba Watson (2012, 2014)
Tom Watson (1977, 1981)
Mike Weir (2003)
Tiger Woods (1997, 2001, 2002, 2005)
Ian Woosnam (1991)

Major winners of the last five years

Martin Kaymer
Graeme McDowell
Rory McIlroy
Justin Rose
Webb Simpson
Darren Clarke
Ernie Els
Louis Oosthuizen
Keegan Bradley
Jason Dufner

Players Championship winners of the last three years

Matt Kuchar

Top 12 from the 2014 Masters

Thomas Bjorn
Jonas Blixt
Rickie Fowler
Miguel Angel Jimenez
John Senden
Jordan Spieth
Kevin Stadler
Jimmy Walker
Lee Westwood

PGA Tour winners from the last 12 months

Sang-Moon Bae
Ben Crane
Matt Every
Bill Haas
James Hahn
Brian Harman
Padraig Harrington
Charley Hoffman
J.B. Holmes
Billy Horschel
Chris Kirk
Hunter Mahan
Ben Martin
Hideki Matsuyama
Ryan Moore
Seung-Yul Noh
Patrick Reed
Brandt Snedeker
Robert Streb
Kevin Streelman
Brendon Todd
Camilo Villegas

Qualified for the FedEx Cup Tour Championship

Russell Henley
Morgan Hoffmann
Kevin Na
Geoff Ogilvy
Ryan Palmer
Gary Woodland

OWGR top 50 at the end of 2014

Luke Donald
Jamie Donaldson
Victor Dubuisson
Stephen Gallacher
Mikko Ilonen
Thongchai Jaidee
Marc Leishman
Shane Lowry
Joost Luiten
Ian Poulter
Steve Stricker
Danny Willet

OWGR top 50 the week before the Masters

Paul Casey
Branden Grace
Anirban Lahiri
Bernd Wiesberger


Gunn Yang
Corey Conners
Bradley Neil
Antonio Murdaca
Matias Dominguez
Byron Meth
Scott Harvey

For more golf news, discussion and videos follow @NCGmagazine on Twitter, like us on Facebook, subscribe to our YouTube video channel, and sign up to our newsletter

Previous article
Next article
National Club Golfer