Skip to content
    • Tour Homepage
    • PGA Tour
    • LIV Golf
    • DP World Tour
    • LPGA
    • LET
    • The Masters
    • The Open
    • The Players
    • US Open
    • PGA Championship
    • Ryder Cup
    • Solheim Cup
    • WITB
    • Betting
    • News
    • Features
    • Equipment Homepage
    • Reviews
    • Drivers
    • Fairway Woods
    • Hybrids
    • Irons
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Golf Balls
    • DMDs
    • Apparel
    • Shoes
    • Trolleys
    • Features
    • News
  • Buying Advice
    • Rules
    • WHS
    • Features
    • News
    • Instruction Homepage
    • Driving Tips
    • Long Game
    • Iron Play
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Learn from the pros
    • Course Management
    • Fitness
    • Mental Game
    • Nutrition
  • Giveaways
    • Top 100 Rankings
    • Travel
    • Top 100s Tour
    • Society Guide
  • The NCG Podcast
  • Digital Magazine
National Club GolferNational Club Golfer Logo
  • TourHas submenu items

    Tour Homepage

    • PGA Tour
    • LIV Golf
    • DP World Tour
    • LPGA
    • LET
    • The Masters
    • The Open
    • The Players
    • US Open
    • PGA Championship
    • Ryder Cup
    • Solheim Cup
    • WITB
    • Betting
    • News
    • Features
  • EquipmentHas submenu items

    Equipment Homepage

    • Reviews
    • Drivers
    • Fairway Woods
    • Hybrids
    • Irons
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Golf Balls
    • DMDs
    • Apparel
    • Shoes
    • Trolleys
    • Features
    • News
  • Buying Advice
  • ClubHas submenu items
    • Rules
    • WHS
    • Features
    • News
  • InstructionHas submenu items

    Instruction Homepage

    • Driving Tips
    • Long Game
    • Iron Play
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Learn from the pros
    • Course Management
    • Fitness
    • Mental Game
    • Nutrition
  • Giveaways
  • CoursesHas submenu items
    • Top 100 Rankings
    • Travel
    • Top 100s Tour
    • Society Guide
  • The NCG Podcast
  • Digital Magazine

Sign up here for our newsletter and you'll never slice a drive again. Promise.

Newsletter sign up

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
National Club Golfer Logo

© 2025 National Club Golfer | 2 Arena Park, Tam Lane, LS17 9BF

  • About
  • Advertise
  • Contact
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy
Country: gb Page generated at: Friday, 28 November 2025 at 22:02:07 Greenwich Mean Time
clubClub

published: Jun 7, 2022

|

updated: Apr 17, 2024

‘It may never have happened in the history of golf’: The hole-in-one story to end them all

George CooperLink

FacebookXInstagramYouTubePodcast0 comments

There are remarkable hole-in-one stories, then there’s this one. George Cooper has the extraordinary details

hole in one

Now we know you all love a good hole-in-one story here at NCG HQ, and we think we’ve just come across one that tops them all as probably the craziest, most extraordinary, most improbable story to ever take place on a golf course.

The scene of which golfers are hailing a “miracle” took place at Minneapolis Golf Club, and involves not one, but two golfers, and just a single ball…

As shared by John Rouleau on Twitter, the miraculous feat started with 13-year-old Preston Miller one-shotting the 4th hole with a 7-iron from 121 yards. But while so many of us would cling onto that ball for dear life, the teenager inexplicably continued playing with his hole-in-one ball and unfortunately lost it on the 7th.

He finished his round and was in the clubhouse enjoying a celebratory soda when a second golfer, Ricardo Fernandez, entered the bar to share that he too had produced the dream moment and made a hole-in-one on the course.

Now here’s where things start to get outright ludicrous.

Extending one another’s congratulations and retelling their stories for all to hear, Fernandez pulled out his golf ball and – well – you know what happened next…

[object Object][object Object][object Object]

“He was just kinda mind-blown,” Miller told the Minneapolis Star Tribune. “He didn’t believe it.”

Fernandez had apparently found Miller’s ace ball in the trees, proceeding to use it for the remainder of the round, and as if lighting doesn’t strike twice, pulled off the unthinkable by holing out with the same ball on the par-3 16th.

“It’s inconceivable,” the head pro at Minneapolis said. “There are people out there that have had two holes-in-one in one round, but to find out two different people made it with one ball? It may have never happened in the history of golf.”

Advertisement

You can say that again. But what we now want to know is, who’s going to keep the miracle ball? And when can we use it?

And does it better this remarkable feat by Knock golfer Matt Welsh?

NCG Top 100s Call to Action

Subscribe to NCG

  • Newsletter
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Podcasts

Advertisement

Comments (0)

Leave a Comment

No comments yet. Be the first to comment!