How much did each player earn at Royal Portrush?

Before the start of the tournament it was announced there would be an increase to the 2019 Open prize money.

The total prize fund was increased to $10.75 million (£8.6m), with Shane Lowry’s winner’s share sitting at $1.94m (£1.56m), which is around $36,000 (£29,000) more than what Francesco Molinari took home for lifting the Claret Jug last year.

The runner-up, Tommy Fleetwood, received around $1.1m (£880,000) for his efforts.

Players who made the cut received a minimum $23,000 while players who made it into the top 10 took home at least $223,000.

Here’s a full breakdown of the 2019 Open Championship prize money.

2019 Open Championship prize money

The full breakdown of the 2019 Open Championship prize money is as follows:

Total prize purse: $10.75 million

Winner: Shane Lowry, $1.935 million
2nd: Tommy Fleetwood,$1,120,000
3rd: Tony Finau, $718,000
T4: Brooks Koepka, $503,500
T4: Lee Westwood, $503,500
T6: Rob MacIntyre, $313,000
T6: Rickie Fowler, $313,000
T6: Tyrell Hatton, $313,000
T6: Danny Willett, $313,000
10th: Patrick Reed, $223,000
T11: Alex Noren, $171,700
T11: Francesco Molinari, $171,700
T11: Justin Thomas, $171,700
T11: Tom Lewis, $171,700
T11: Jon Rahm, $171,700
T16: Ryan Fox, $126,312.50
T16: Lucas Bjerregaard, $126,312.50
T16: Rory Sabbatini, $126,312.50
T16: Sang Hyun Park, $126,312.50
T20: Louis Oosthuizen, $91,350
T20: Stewart Cink, $91,350
T20: Doc Redman, $91,350
T20: Lucas Glover, $91,350
T20: Erik Van Rooyen, $91,350
T20: Matthew Fitzpatrick, $91,350
T20: Cameron Smith, $91,350
T20: Henrik Stenson, $91,350
T20: Jordan Spieth, $91,350
T20: Justin Rose, $91,350

T30: Kevin Kisner, $69,875
T30: Webb Simpson, $69,875
T32: Kiradech Aphibarnrat, $56,277.77
T32: Jason Kokrak, $56,277.77
T32: Bernd Wiesberger, $56,277.77
T32: Andrew Wilson, $56,277.77
T32: Joost Luiten, $56,277.77
T32: Ernie Els, $56,277.77
T32: Byeong Hun An, $56,277.77
T32: Andrew Putnam, $56,277.77
T32: Dylan Frittelli, $56,277.77
T41: Benjamin Herbert, $36,925
T41: Innchoon Hwang, $36,925
T41: Aaron Wise, $36,925
T41: Patrick Cantlay, $36,925
T41: Justin Harding, $36,925
T41: Russell Knox, $36,925
T41: Xander Schauffele, $36,925
T41: Matt Kuchar, $36,925
T51: Shubhankar Sharma, $28,316.66
T51: Branden Grace, $28,316.66
T51: Bubba Watson, $28,316.66
T51: Matt Wallace, $28,316.66
T51: Charley Hoffman, $28,316.66
T51: Dustin Johnson, $28,316.66
T57: Ashton Turner, $26,466.66
T57: Thorbjorn Olesen, $26,466.66
T57: Kevin Streelman, $26,466.66
T57: Paul Casey, $26,466.66
T57: Adam Hadwin, $26,466.66
T57: Graeme McDowell, $26,466.66
T63: Paul Waring, $25,800
T63: Jim Furyk, $25,800
T63: Mikko Korhonen, $25,800
T63: Romain Langasque, $25,800
T67: Thomas Pieters, $25,087.50
T67: Yosuke Asaji, $25,087.50
T67: Sergio Garcia, $25,087.50
T67: JB Holmes, $25,087.50
71st: Eddie Pepperell, $23,625
T72: Nino Bertasio, $23,437.50
T72: Yuki Inamori, $23,437.50

Previous Open prize money

2019 Open Championship prize money

In previous years The Open prize money and winner’s share have been as follows:

2009: £4.2 million/£750,000
2010: £4.8 million/£850,000
2011: £5 million/£900,000
2012: £5 million/£900,000
2013: £5.25 million/£945,000
2014: £5.4 million/£975,000
2015: £6.3 million/£1.15 million
2016: £6.5 million/£1.175 million
2017: $10.25 million/$1.845 million
2018: $10.5 million/$1.89 million

Keep up to date with all the action from Royal Portrush with NCG’s dedicated Open website as well as on TwitterFacebook and Instagram.

NCG info

NCG information services provide everything you need from leaderboards and prize money breakdowns to TV schedules weather forecasts.

Subscribe to NCG