It is now the second major of the season after it was moved in 2019, so when is the 2021 PGA Championship?

Here’s the lowdown on the 103rd edition of the championship.

A brief history of the PGA Championship

The PGA Championship was initially a matchplay event with the first tournament being held in October 1916 at Siwanoy Country Club, New York.

The tournament was mainly played in either May or June after World War II and then moved to July in 1953 with the final day falling on the Tuesday of the tournament.

The strokeplay format was first used in 1958 because television broadcasters believed it would make the tournament more marketable with the majority of high profile names contending on the final day.

Did you know…

The PGA Championship trophy is called the Wanamaker Trophy and is named after Rodman Wanamaker, a store owner who called a meeting between friends, which included Walter Hagen, to discuss the formation of a new golf organisation for professional golfers in 1916.

This resulted in the formation of the PGA of America which would host a professional only golf tournament every year. Wanamaker put up $2,500 of his own money for the prize fund and ordered that a silver cup would be presented to the winner of the tournament.

The current trophy isn’t the original as it was lost by Walter Hagen.

Where is the 2021 PGA Championship?

The 103rd edition of the tournament will be held at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, Ocean course, Kiawah Island, South Carolina for the second time, previously in 2012 when Rory McIlroy was champion.

The Ocean Course is the most famous course at Kiawah Island, opened in 1991, it was designed by Pete and Alice Dye. It first became well known in its first year when it hosted the 1991 Ryder Cup when the United States golf team defeated the Europe golf team 14½ – 13½.

When is the 2021 PGA Championship?

The tournament will be played in May 2021 with the exact dates to be announced shortly.