The tournament is being brought forward in 2019 to accommodate for the PGA Championship moving dates, but when is the 2019 Players Championship?

Here’s the lowdown on the 46th edition of the tournament.

A brief history of the Players Championship

The tournament has been ever present on the PGA Tour calendar since the first tournament in 1974 which was played at Atlanta Country Club and itwas originally known as the Tournament Players Championship.

It was first conceived by PGA Tour commissioner Deane Beman and has had various date changes and has been played in February, March, May, August and September.

Did you know…

The Players Championship is often referred to as the unofficial ‘fifth major’ due to the prestige of the tournament and the fact it offers a large prize purse and world ranking points compared to regular PGA Tour events.

The prize purse in 2018 was $11 million which is more than the money on offer at The Open and the same amount of prize money on offer at the Masters and PGA Championship.

In terms of world ranking points, the winner receives 80 points, 20 less than at the four majors but slightly more than any of the World Golf Championship events.

Where is the Players Championship played?

The tournament is currently played on the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass and has been played there since 1982.

However, it hasn’t always been played on the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass. Prior to the Stadium Courses’ first event the tournament was played at Sawgrass Country Club five times. Inverrary Country Club, Colonial Country Club and Atlanta Country have all hosted the tournament once.

When is the 2019 Players Championship?

The 2019 tournament will be played between Thursday 14 March and Sunday 17 March 2019 with the PGA Championship moving to May.

Who is the defending champion?

When is the 2019 Players Championship

Webb Simpson is the defending champion and pocketed a Players record of $1.98m from the winners share.

The American cruised to a four-shot victory over Xander Schauffele, Charl Schwartzel and Jimmy Walker and tied the second lowest tournament score at TPC Sawgrass.

Greg Norman currently holds the scoring record with an aggregate score of 264 which is 24 under par.