There was no tournament held between 2009 and 2014 but since returning to the calendar it has proved popular amongst golf fans, so when is the 2019 British Masters?

A brief history of the British Masters

The British Masters was first held in 1946 at Stoneham Golf Club which resulted in a tie between Jimmy Adams and Bobby Locke. The event was ever present until 2008 when Fernando Fernandez-Castano was victorious at The Belfry.

Due to a lack of title sponsor the event wasn’t played between 2009 and 2014 but Sky Sports stepped in and it was announced that the event would return in 2015 with Ian Poulter hosting at Woburn Golf Club.

Since then the event has been ever present on the European Tour calendar.

Did you know…

The 1967 British Masters was remembered for providing the first live hole in one on British television with Tony Jacklin recording an ace at the 16th hole at Royal St George’s.

Where is the 2019 British Masters?

Hillside Golf Club will play host to the tournament in 2019 and it will be the second time that the course has hosted a European Tour event after hosting the 1982 Sun Alliance PGA Championship which was won by Tony Jacklin.

The golf course is situated just a stones throw away from the famous Open venue Royal Birkdale.

Who will host the 2019 British Masters?

Tommy Fleetwood

Tommy Fleetwood will play host at Hillside following in the footsteps of fellow Englishmen Ian Poulter, Luke Donald, Lee Westwood and Justin Rose to have hosted the event since 2015.

When is the 2019 British Masters?

In 2019 the British Masters will be played the week before the PGA Championship and will be held between Thursday 9 and Sunday 12 May 2019.

It means the tournament will have a change of date from the previous years as it used to be played in October.

Who is the defending champion?

Eddie Pepperell is the defending champion heading to Hillside after he was victorious at Walton Heath in 2018 with a winning score of nine under par.