The Open 2015: Champion Golfers' Challenge draw

Golf Equipment

McIlroy still included in the preliminary draw for the four hole tournament

The R&A have announced the draw ahead of the Champion Golfers’ Challenge at St Andrews ahead of The 144TH Open next week. 

29 Champion Golfers with a combined 46 victories in golf’s oldest Championship taking part, will take part in the event.

R&A Chief Executive, Peter Dawson, said: “The Champion Golfers’ Challenge will be a wonderful event for the many thousands of fans at St Andrews as well as those watching on television around the world.

Tom Watson on his preparations for his final Open appearance

“We have been privileged to watch these great players competing in The Open over the last 60 years and they have given us tremendous enjoyment in that time. I am sure this will be a hugely memorable occasion for players and spectators alike.”

The four-hole challenge on the Old Course will be contested by a wide array of former Open winners, with Rory McIlroy still pencilled in to feature hours before he chose to withdraw after his ankle injury.


The first team consists of three-time champion Tiger Woods, 1998 Champion Mark O’Meara. They will be joined by the 1994 Champion Nick Price and team captain Tom Weiskopf, who won at Royal Troon in 1973.

On the 40th anniversary of his victory at Carnoustie and ahead of his final appearance in The Open, five-time Champion Golfer Tom Watson will captain the third team. Watson’s team is completed with 1991 and 2004 Champions Ian Baker-Finch and Todd Hamilton as well as Louis Oosthuizen, the last man to win The Open at the Old Course.

Lee Westwood on his first St Andrews Open experience

Peter Thomson, celebrating the 60th anniversary of his victory at St Andrews in 1955, will captain the team comprising the 2013 and 2012 Champions, Phil Mickelson and Ernie Els, and Ben Curtis, who won in 2003.

The last two Champions from England, three-time winner Sir Nick Faldo and 1969 winner Tony Jacklin will be joined by Americans John Daly, who won at St Andrews in 1995, and Tom Lehman, the victor in 1996.

The final grouping of the day consists of Arnold Palmer, 2014 Champion Rory McIlroy, his fellow Irishman Darren Clarke, who won at Royal St George’s in 2011, and the 2007 and 1981 Champions Paul Lawrie and Bill Rogers.

The Champion Golfers’ Challenge will commence at 3.30pm.

Rory chooses to withdraw from the Open after ankle injury

The teams will compete on the 1st, 2nd, 17th and 18th holes of the Old Course for a prize of £100,000 which will be donated to a charity of their choice. The best individual score per team on each hole will count as the team score.

Seating in the grandstands around the 1st, 2nd, 17th and 18th holes is available to spectators on a first come, first served basis.

The challenge will be available to view around the world on and through the official Open App and will be televised by the BBC and ESPN.

The full draw for the Champion Golfers’ Challenge – Wednesday 15 July

Tom Weiskopf (Captain)

Mark O’Meara

Nick Price

Tiger Woods

Sir Bob Charles (Captain)

David Duval

Justin Leonard

Sandy Lyle

Tom Watson (Captain)

Ian Baker-Finch

Todd Hamilton

Louis Oosthuizen

Peter Thomson (Captain)

Ben Curtis

Ernie Els

Phil Mickelson

Gary Player (Captain)

Stewart Cink

Mark Calcavecchia

Padraig Harrington

Tony Jacklin (Captain)

John Daly

Sir Nick Faldo

Tom Lehman

Arnold Palmer (Captain)

Darren Clarke

Paul Lawrie

Rory McIlroy – withdrawn – more information here

Bill Rogers

For more information please visit

Previous article
Next article
National Club Golfer