Playing in his 74th major championship at Augusta, Sergio Garcia consigned his nearly man tag to history, in doing so terminating his membership of the Best Golfers to Never Win a Major club.

The Spaniard leaves behind a star-studded cast of members who have never won or have yet to win one of golf’s four greatest prizes despite their undeniable quality.

An array of second-place finishes at major tournaments, Ryder Cup heroics and bags of tour victories litter the CVs of its members.

NCG’s James Broadhurst delves into the history books…