Norfolk youngsters win English Schools’ Team Championship

The Scoop

Thorpe St Andrews becomes the second Norfolk school to win the title

Three Norfolk youngsters broke a deadlock at the top of the leaderboard to win the English schools’ team championship on the Bracken course at Woodhall Spa.

Thorpe St Andrews School in Norwich, represented by Lewis Unstead (Sprowston Manor), Hope Neild (Royal Norwich) and Toby Briggs (Dunston Hall), scored 76 points, with their best two cards counting.

Their total, returned towards the end of a dreary day when heavy showers drenched the later starters, shot them past a four-way tie at the top of the leaderboard on 72 points.

Woodhall Spa: A genuine all-rounder

“We’re elated,” said Briggs, 15, an England U16 international who plays off plus-two.

Thorpe St Andrews’ points were provided by Unstead, 15, and Neild, 13, who both scored 38. Briggs, who won the Norfolk and the South East Schools’ championships, shot a course record in the qualifying round to help the team through to the final, but his points were not required on this occasion.

Unstead, who plays off 21, commented: “Hope has been consistently good. Toby and I have come in once each.”

Five things: What we learned at the Amateur Championships

Neild, who has been playing for less than three years and has a 23 handicap, mastered the greens.

“My putting was really good and I didn’t really miss anything,” she said.

Second place, on countback, went to St Andrews School, Surrey, with team members George Stinton (West Byfleet), Ben Partridge (Epsom) and Enrique Dimayuga (Cuddington).

Third was Penistone Grammar, Yorkshire, represented by Ben Schmidt (Rotherham GC), Tom Collings (Wortley) and Nicola Slater (Hickleton).

Golf Debate: Will Rory’s absence ruin The Open at St Andrews?

Southend High School for Boys, Essex, and Matthew Arnold School, Oxfordshire, also scored 72 points. 

Thorpe St Andrews are the second Norfolk school to win the championship after Wymondham High School in 2006.

Click here for the full leaderboard.

The Championship is run by England Golf in partnership with the English Schools Golf Association (ESGA).

Previous article
Next article