Luis Gagne thought he had opened with a 70 at Q School but then discovered he had committed one of the game's fundamental rules errors

It’s that time of year when hundreds of players are battling it out through various Q Schools to try and set up a better way of life for next year.

And with that come the usual tales of late three-putts and wheels bouncing into the central reservation to temper the highs of the great and good progressing to the next stage of battle.

Then you get the stomach-churning sight of the letters ‘DQ’, which generally tell a grim story. That was the case this week at one of the second stage events on the Korn Ferry (previously Web.com) Tour.

Luis Gagne was previously best known for finishing as the joint leading amateur at the 2018 US Open. Now he will be added to the list of those players who needlessly got disqualified for not signing their scorecard before leaving the scoring tent.

Here’s what the Rules of Golf (3.3b) say about it…

Of all the ways to get yourself thrown out of a tournament this must rank as one of the most frustrating.

The Costa Rican, who played a handful of events on the Challenge Tour having attended Louisiana State University, opened with a one-under 70 before making his costly blunder.

The Plantation event is one of five second-stage sites for the Korn Ferry Q-School with the top 20 from each advance to the Q-School Final in December.