Usually the final major of the year, the 2019 PGA Championship will have a new place in the calendar from 2019 onwards.

Here’s the lowdown on the 2019 tournament.

Brief history of the PGA Championship

The PGA Championship began in 1916 and was originally a matchplay tournament before being changed to a 72 hole stroke play in 1958.

The winner gets to take home the two and a half foot tall, Wanamaker trophy. The trophy is named after Ron Wanamaker who was a driving force in the creation of the PGA of America.

Did you know…

Jack Nicklaus and Walter Hagen hold the record for number of victories with five each. Rory McIlroy holds the greatest winning margin when he won by six shots at Kiawah Island in 2012.

Southern Hills has hosted the PGA Championship the most out of any of the golf courses with the Oklahoma course hosting the tournament on four separate occasions.

Where is the 2019 PGA Championship?

2019 PGA Championship

The 2019 PGA Championship will be held at Bethpage Black. Bethpage has hosted two US Open’s and has also played host to The Barclays during the 2016 FedEx Cup.

When is the 2019 PGA Championship?

The 2019 PGA Championship will be played between Thursday 16th and Sunday 19th May.

Click here to view our dedicated PGA Championship website