The worlds best will once again do battle for the famous Claret Jug on the east coast of Scotland at the 2018 Open Championship.

A brief history of the Open…

The Open Championship, known simply as the Open, is the oldest major championship in professional golf.

It is traditionally played on seaside links courses in the United Kingdom. The first 12 Open Championships were played at Prestwick but the venue is now rotated between various approved courses.

The Old Course at St Andrews currently plays host to the Open every five years – although it will be shifted from 2020 to 2021 to hold the 150th edition of the event.

2018 Open Championship

Established as a tournament in 1860 at Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland, the inaugural tournament was contested by just eight professional golfers who played three rounds over Prestwick’s 12-hole course in a single day.

It was won by Willie Park Sr with a score of 174, beating Old Tom Morris by two strokes.

It is ran by The R&A and is the only major outside of the United States.

Now a 72-hole strokeplay tournament played over four days, it is the third major of the season and takes place in July.

2018 Open Championship

The winner, named ‘Champion Golfer of the Year’, is presented with the Claret Jug and a gold medal.

Similarly, the leading amateur is presented with a silver medal, while all other amateurs completing the 72 holes receive a bronze medal.

Did you know…

Harry Vardon has won the most Opens, wth six victories between 1896 and 1914, while Australian Peter Thomson’s five wins is the most post World War II. Notably Tom Watson has five Open victories.

Tom Morris is the youngest golfer to win the Open at 17 years old in 1868, whilst Old Tom Morris is the oldest to win in 1867 at 46 years old.

2018 Open Championship

Greg Norman has the record for the lowest 72-hole score of 267, after rounds of 66-68-69-64 in 1993 at Royal St George’s.

Gary Player has made the most appearances to Open championships making the trip 47 times, his first win coming in 1959.

Carnoustie is the current longest Open course, where in 2007 it measured 7,421 yards.

Where is the 2018 Open Championship?

The 2018 Open will be held at Carnoustie on the east coast of Scotland.

It is considered one of the country’s finest and most demanding links courses.

Carnoustie has previously held the Open on seven occasions.

Tom Watson first triumphed at Carnoustie in 1975, beating Jack Newton in an 18-hole playoff by one stroke. This was his first major victory and he went on to win eight major titles.

2018 Open Championship

The most recent champion at Carnoustie is Padraig Harrington in 2007. The Irishman defeated Sergio Garcia in a playoff to win his first major championship and become the first Irish winner in over 60 years.

Rory McIlroy was the low amateur for the 2007 Open, finishing on a score of +5 and in 42.

Harrington became the first European winner of a major since Paul Lawrie’s Open playoff win again at Carnoustie in 1999.

When is the 2018 Open Championship? 

The 2018 edition will be held from Thursday July 19 to Sunday July 22.

2018 Open Championship

Who is the current Champion Golfer of the Year?

2019 Open Championship

Jordan Spieth was victorious at Royal Birkdale in 2017. Spieth famously hit a shot from the driving range following a wayward tee shot on the 13th and it changed momentum from Kuchar to himself as he finished birdie, eagle, birdie, birdie, par to take the Claret Jug.

How can I watch the 2018 Open Championship?

Tickets and accommodation packages are on sale now, running through the offical Open website. But still you can always fully submerge yourself in television coverage.

All the action will be shown live by Sky Sports with full highlights in the evenings on the BBC.