The final major of the season and the last chance to pick up one of golf’s most coveted prizes – that’s the incentive for the host of top players who will be teeing it up at the 2017 PGA Championship.

Will that trend be repeated in 2017?

A brief history of the PGA Championship

The PGA Championship holds the honour of being the last major men’s golf championship to be played during the season.

Established in 1916, it is organised by the Professional Golfers Association of America.

Englishman Jim Barnes was the first winner of the PGA Championship when it was held in 1916 at Siwanoy Country Club in New York.

2017 PGA Championship

He defeated Scotland’s Jock Hutchinson 1 up when the tournament was played in a matchplay format.

Like all the majors, it now follows a 72-hole strokeplay format played over four days, from Thursday to Sunday.

Walter Hagen and Jack Nicklaus hold the record for most PGA Championship titles with five each – Hagen in the matchplay era and Nicklaus in strokeplay.

Where is the 2017 PGA Championship?

For the first time in its history, Quail Hollow in Charlotte, North Carolina, will host a major championship.

The course was originally designed by architect George Cobb in 1961 to capture the beauty as well as challenging terrain of the Piedmont region.

In the years since, modifications have been made to several holes by Arnold Palmer in 1986, and a redesign by Tom Fazio in 1997.

2017 PGA Championship

When is the 2017 PGA Championship?

It will be held from Thursday August 10 to Sunday August 13.

The PGA Championship is traditionally played in mid-August on the third weekend prior to Labor Day weekend.

However, the date was changed to late July in 2016 because of golf’s involvement in the Olympics.

How can I watch the 2017 PGA Championship?

There a range of tickets available, including standard grounds tickets but also more expensive options in the form of the Season Grounds and Wanamaker Club tickets.

Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday grounds tickets will set you back $95 – roughly £75 – plus tax.

PGA Championship tickets are sold exclusively through a free, online registration process.

Who is the reigning PGA champion?

2017 PGA Championship

American Jimmy Walker pipped Jason Day by one stroke at Baltusrol in New Jersey to win his first ever major title.

He finished with a score of 14 under par and became one of the few wire-to-wire major winners in history. It was also the first time since 2011 that all four major golf championships were won by first-time winners.

Due to poor weather and the course conditions, the final round was played with preferred lies, allowing players to lift, clean and place their balls on the fairways. This is believed to be the first time the rule was invoked in a Major championship.